We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1152 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Duck B&B and Inns
Suffolk, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place is just adorable. The proprietor is a lovely older woman who makes sure you have everything you need. She has coffee, fruit, and fresh bagels ready for you when you wake up. We stayed in the Wood Duck room, in which the bed is very comfortable. The Inn is also walking distance from the beach and restaurants, which is nice as we didn't have to look for parking elsewhere. The value of the room is incredible, and you will not find a cheaper place to stay in Duck that is as nice as this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Had the opportunity to stay at The Sleeping Duck and the pleasure of meeting Carolyn! The B&B was lovely. We stayed in the Teal Room which was very comfy and had all the accommodations needed. It's a beautiful home! Lots of space for folks to gather. The pool & lounging area was not open which would had been a nice addition to our stay. Breakfast was nicely presented and consisted of a fresh yummy bagel, all of your favorite spreads, fresh fruit, juice & coffee. We enjoyed our time visiting with Carolyn and wish her & Shane all of our best. Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate the high marks, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Carolyn and Shane Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stay at bed and breakfasts all the time. Some are wonderful, some are fair, and some are bad. The sleeping duck is wonderful. My hubby and I came for our anniversary and it did not dissapoint. We stayed in the blue winged teal room. The room has a shower, and not a tub, but that was just fine with us (we have one at home), because you got the bonus of a private balcony that we loved going out on in the evenings. The bed was so amazing comfortable that after a day of fun and sun it was perfect to relax in. The location is perfect. It is just as you are coming into duck and is with in walking distance to atractions. We walked to dinner at Aqua both nights. The breakfast of fresh fruit, oj, coffee and a fresh bagel was just perfect. We loved carolyn and Shane and can not wait to come back. Give them a call and book you will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Hello!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about our bed and breakfast! It is nice to see that our efforts to provide exceptional customer service are being noticed and appreciated. We look forward to having you back as a guest, and welcome all of our future guests to the Outer Banks! Have a great summer, and thanks again!

Sincerely,
Carolyn and Shane Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We have just returned from The Outer Banks and were very pleased with our accommodations at the beautiful inn. The inn is open and spacious with great attention to detail. Carolyn makes ever effort to accommodate. We stayed in The Mallard Room. Gorgeous color, great bed, and very spacious room. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1152 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Duck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1989 by The Ball Family, The Sleeping Duck is located in the quaint Town of Duck, N.C. We are minutes away from local shopping centers and restaurants whether you are walking, driving, or riding a bike. This charming and spacious bed and breakfast is just off of Duck Rd, next to Amy Lane, and across the street from the "Welcome to Duck" sign with the hand-carved duck. The Atlantic Ocean is roughly a fifteen minute walk from our front door, with a secluded access to the Currituck Sound just over the hill behind us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sleeping Duck Bed And Breakfast NC - Outer Banks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sleeping Duck Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.