We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duck Village Outfitters

Duck Village Outfitters
1207 Duck Rd, Duck, NC 27949
(252) 261-7222
Website
Improve this listing
Kansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Had a great experience during our March 2013 visit. Rented a few bikes and some wetsuits for our stay. Staff was very helpful although you must be ready for their laid back pace. Staff gave us a lot of helpful information for enjoying our stay in the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toledo, oh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice folks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Needed a quick bike repair for my daughter. They did the job amazingly quickly [while i waited] and very reasonably [$6 as i recall]. This is very cool place to shop. We picked up some beach stuff while we were there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Re: Bicycle Rentals”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I rented 8 bicycles from Duck Village Outfitters. One was not delivered until 3 days after it was requested. Two bicycles had the seats very high but did not have quick release on them. We did not have tools with us on vacation, it took two days for the repair to be made. The baby seat was filthy, the padding was torn and falling off. Because the bikes were not ridable for a few days, the person at Duck Village said a refund would be given. That was incorrect, I just received a bill for the entire amount. Poor service, old/broken bicycles and unfulfilled requests. Definitely go with OCEAN ATLANTIC rentals. I have rented from that company for ten years, with no problems. Bicycles were always at the houses when we arrived. Definitely my mistake and I paid full price for poor quality.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Vacation activity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Recently rented two kayaks for my husband and 3 kids to go out kayaking on their own. It was a first time experience for the 3 kids. Husband forgot to give the coupon we had just cut out of a coupon book and it was not mentioned to him by the staff, as a previous reviewed mentioned.
It was about $95 for the two kayaks for a 24 hour rental period. Also, it would have been nice for them to offer to assist him with getting them on top of our van, as one kayak fell off while he was trying to adjust them. Fortunately, nothing happened to the kayak, but our van obtained several scratches. The older kids and husband enjoyed kayaking for a couple hours (including a stop for ice cream at another dock) from the launch in the town park. The younger child thought it was a lot of work and didn't enjoy it so much. The nice thing was they were able to use them again the next morning since the rental was for 24 hours.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice kayaking tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We took an approximately 2 hour kayaking tour through Kitty Hawk Bay and out into the Albermarle Sound. It was very enjoyable and a good activity for beginners. We went into DVO in Duck to sign up, sign our waivers, and pay. There is a 10% off coupon in those vacation guides you can pick up around town. It was about $30 apiece for single kayaks after the discount, but they also have the option to rent a double kayak. The tour took us through the Maritime Forest and the guide pointed out local plants and wildlife. Saw lots of osprey, crabs, and heron, but the bald eagle eluded us this time. Would definitely go again- we were going to just rent the kayaks, but the self-guided tour pier was damaged in Hurricane Irene last week. Should be back up and running soon, but I recommend you call first.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duck Village Outfitters also viewed

 

Been to Duck Village Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck Village Outfitters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.