We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great iced coffee in OBX” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaiian Island Snow-Balls

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hawaiian Island Snow-Balls
1190 Duck Road, Osprey Landing Sound Front Shops, Duck, NC 27949
252-261-1666
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 30 Restaurants in Duck
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: The best of the Outer Banks. Full service ice cream, floats, malts, homemade fudge and more. Located on the Currituck Sound... free sunsets!
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great iced coffee in OBX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place was difficult to find because the sign is small and it is in a plaza with other shops and restaurants. Look for Duck Donuts and it's in the same set of shops. I only tried the iced coffee and so did my in-laws. We all agreed that is was some of the best iced coffee we ever tried. I even made a return stop on our way out of town to get another one (a larger size this time). Watch your step on the way out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    4
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, NC, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“RUDE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

There were 5 of us. We went in at 8:50pm not realizing closing time was 9pm.
The owner kept referring that it was closing time! He was more concerned with closing time that good customer service! He REALLY should have turned off the OPEN sign!! We will not return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Yummy ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Delicious waffle cones and yummy ice cream to go in them! They even have a chocolate chip waffle cone! Never heard of those before! Just a friendly neighborhood shop...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rude, not kid-friendly, and over-priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Owner made multiple rude comments to us during the 5 min we were in his store, and sold Edy's ice cream similar to what you can find in any grocery store for inflated prices. Won't be returning.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Tough one to rate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Jeff is rude yes. But we still go here and I think he recognizes us now. his ice cream is pretty good and I think he just enjoys pulling off the disgruntled owner attitude when he is really harmless. They give decent size scoops too. I guess I'll keep going back but one day he will probably go too far and end my repeat business. So for now I'll deal with the fact I can walk there and just smile through the whole thing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiian Island Snow-Balls also viewed

 

Been to Hawaiian Island Snow-Balls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaiian Island Snow-Balls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.