We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderling Resort

Save Saved
You added Sanderling Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanderling Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Duck
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

My wife and I took a trip here for our anniversary and had been partially swayed by all of the positive reviews posted to this site. However, we found that our experience was not worth the money we spent. Upon checking in, we noticed the Zagat rating in the lobby which rated The Sanderling as a very good to excellent hotel and the lowest scoring category was service. I found this to be very true in every sense. Unfortunately, we had poor service and our experience was soured as a result. The service red flags started at check in:

While cheking in with a very pleasant staff member another came up from behind her yelling for another guest at a very loud volume. The other staff member then continued her conversation at a volume so loud, we all had to stop and wait until she was done before we could continue our check-out.

The hotel says that it will provide chairs and umbrellas for all guests, but the number of chairs was far fewer than the number of guests. Some angry guests had to sit on towels on the beach with no shade which is not what they paid for. After complaing, we were able to get two chairs from maintenence which were broken, but at least it kept us off the hot sand. Another time we requested chairs which were not put out for us. We sat in another guests chairs who was extremely angry at us and demanded ten dollars for the use of his chairs. The hotel said that our chairs were put out, but since they do not label any of the chair as reserved for the guests that requested them, confusion ensues and somebody else probably took out chairs. The chair issues led to interactions which were unpleasant and adversely affected what should have been a pleasant day on the beach for our anniversary.

Upon returning from breakfast at Duck Donuts (which surpasses its hype), we found that our room door had not been closed after cleaning. Nobody was in the halls but anybody could have accessed our room. We called to tell the hotel this had happened and were told that was the hotel policy so that the house keeping inspector could come and make sure the room was cleaned properly. This was actually worse than saying it was an accident. A staff employee was justifying that our belongings were left unsecure as a practice. I don't understand why the house keepers can access the room but the inspector does not have a key to do the same? We were told that the people doing this were reprimanded, but again it soured the experience. For compensation we were given breakfast for two, about a $30 value, from the front office manager.

At check out, my wife wanted to pay a balance in cash from the sand bar because we ordered a wrap, a burger, and two Corona's ($60). The person working the desk told her he would take care of it, then started talking to another employee and got a phone call. Then he charged our credit card and asked her to sign a receipt. It was another example of being made to feel as though we were dormers, not guests. He then had to start over, cancel the card and ring up the cash.

The hotel has a great little spot with nice facilities and restaraunts and I'm sure can be a great place to stay. It is not walking distance to any other stores or eateries, but it is just a short drive away (2miles). It is pretty hard to keep a beach hotel clean and that was about average. I personally believe that there is nothing particularly special about the rooms which is why service should make such a big impact on whether or not someone enjoys their stay. Unfortunately for us, the service was sub par and I would not recommend this hotel to people that I care about. Our experience was not worth the money we paid for the stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    349
    119
    41
    11
    7
See reviews for
106
318
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Three friends and I stayed at the Canvasback house at the Sanderling Resort. I had wanted a beach rental house and the Sanderling was the best of both - a hotel and your own house . A BIG BEAUTIFUL HOUSE WITH VIEWS OF THE OCEAN AND THE SOUND WITH ALL OF THE RESORT AMMENITIES, STEPS TO THE BEACH, GREAT RESTAURANTS WITHIN YARDS OF OUR DOOR. We all loved the house- so comfortable - I wanted to move right in and never leave!
We've already planned to go back out again next year and do it again!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Very nice facility. Everything you need while staying at the beach. Staff is outstanding. If you like being treated like we should be, they are there for you. Concierge was very helpful in planning our stay. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We first stayed at the Sanderling Inn in 1997 as a dating couple. We returned in 1998 and again in 2001, when my husband proposed to me in our ocean front room while sharing our delivered breakfast...
Eight years later, in 2009, we brought our children (7 and 3) and stayed in a Sound View room for the first time. We enjoyed beautiful sunsets each evening overlooking the Pamlico Sound. The whole family enjoyed looking for fiddler crabs on the beach at night with flashlights, followed by a dip in the hot tub... They talked about it for months afterward!
We returned in 2010 for 9 nights! We splurged and got a two room loft suite, 2nd floor, sound view. It was a great decision for our family because it had two refrigerators, a small pantry, microwave oven, two bathrooms, and a huge walk-in closet for all our random stuff. The loft was somewhat hot (but so was the weather) and we had to crank on the AC to keep it reasonable upstairs for sleeping. All was well with our downstairs sleepers once we requested an additional down comforter. We have always stayed in the Main Inn, preferring to be close to amenities and now, it's just our tradition.
We highly recommend the Life Saving Station for breakfast (especially their daily fresh smoothies!), and the Pine Island Tennis Center for some indoor clinics and lessons with their pro, Rick. Rick's drills and clinics are progressive and fast-paced. After enjoying the beautiful beach, we would walk across the street to take a dip in the indoor pool. The pool is lovely, and gets a refreshing breeze from the Sound.
Finally, I want to emphasize how nice and relaxing it is to enjoy tea and cookies each afternoon in the beautifully appointed sitting room, and enjoying coffee and the daily newspaper each morning in the same room...
If you are looking for a relaxing, "no agenda" beach vacation, we highly recommend staying at the Sanderling Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We love the Sanderling. It has the feel of an upscale beach house. Nice large rooms, great empty beach, crabs on the beach at night, lovely free tea and cookies etc in the afternoon, free coffee in the am, a spa... And we enjoyed the recently added features - parking kiosk & beach bar.

The only drawback is that the room service food was inedible. Not just bad -- inedible (and that's being nice). We like to eat in our room at night, but after the umpteen try (gristle burger, club sandwiches with wilted lettuce and no bacon, pasta with no flavor, missing items, warm chardonnay, etc) we gave up. We can overlook the very green staff, but I hope management focuses on the room service food, as this is otherwise a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

This is a wonderful resort in an area with a great deal of history. The Sanderling is far enough away from the young tourist feel of the OBX that is south of the resort. However, it is close enough for those that desire that type of recreation.
I only wish that we would have had more time to take advantage of the ammenities that the Sanderling offers. Also to see the historical areas of the OBX.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

I scheduled a five night stay at The Sanderling back in January of this year for June 13-17. I received confirmations and many emails from The Sanderling concierge as our trip drew near. We informed the concierge we would arrive around 3 PM even tho we knew checkin was at 4. We arrived at 3 and at 4:45 our room was still not available. The manager on duty was not even apologetic which incensed us since we had driven 9 hrs. The concierge (Hannah) was sympathetic but was new to her job. We asked for and received a full refund and found another place to stay at the Outer Banks. What a huge disappointment for all of us!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
We do apology to this traveler for their frustration and not being able to deliver a 4pm check -in time which is our norm (and with notice of arrival times do our best to accommodate travelers as they arrive if available). There were some circumstances on this particular day that were extraordinary and we are sorry that it affected any guests. We recognized that and refunded the money in full however all rooms were ready that day by 5pm. We do understand the check in process was delayed in general and probably added to the frustration. These are not normal circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Duck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along with the Left Bank restaurant, the property is now AAA 4 Diamond. In April 2011, a soft goods renovation was completed for all the guest rooms including carpet, paint and all new bedding including mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck, NC - Outer Banks
The Sanderling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderling Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.