We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surrounding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sanderling Resort to your Saves list
Sanderling Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Escape
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“Beautiful surrounding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Great rooms, great view, great place to get away and meet! Left Bank is a great restaurant overlooking the sound!

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    131
    47
    12
    7
See reviews for
125
359
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We spent 4 nights in a King room in the South Inn, 2nd floor (The 3rd floor gives you a view of the water without standing up, but it was about $75 more per night) This place really does do hospitality right- from the front desk service to tea and cookies in the afternoon to fruit and coffee available much of the time. The setting is awesome-watch the sunrise over the ocean just on the other side of the dune in the morning or watch the sunset in the rocking chairs facing the sound on the other side of the hall--just a great place to relax. Great bed and bath. We had a room service breakfast that was marvelous (and reasonable)

A trip up to Corolla to see the lighthouse and the horses on the beach is a must. The only thing we'd do differently is skip the Left Bank-the food and service was good but not worth the price as far a we were concerned.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Our family decided to go to the Outer Banks for Spring Break and we are glad we did. We stayed at The Sanderling. We have 2 young children and we easily fit into one 2-bedded room, that had plenty of space for all 4 of us. The beaches were great. The staff very friendly. The food was excellent. I highly reccomend this resort to families with young children. I saw some families with teenager families and they looked like they were having a lot of fun too. We bought a kite and flew it in the afternoons, after spending most of the day on the beach. We also visited the Wright Brothers museum, which was very interesting and saw the wild horses on the beach in nearby Corolla. The complimentary morning coffee and afternoon tea and cookies were a nice treat for not only our kids (the cookies), but for my wife and myself (coffee). We did not use their spa or tennis courts, but they looked nice too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

The further we drove away from Washington DC and towards the Outer Banks, we both could feel the stress leaving. Arriving at the Sanderling was the perfect end of the journey.
The resort is excellent, decorated with an incredible artwork collection in the lobbys. The rooms are beautifully done and all have various views of the sound and the ocean. The spa is wonderful and I enjoyed yoga classes, and my Serenity ritual treatment. All the staff at the Sanderling were genuinely friendly and very professional. We had the opportunity to eat at the Lifesaving station and I highly recommend the pecan waffles. The town of Duck has many great shops and restaurants also.
We both really needed this getaway trip and going to the Sanderling was the perfect choice, we wil be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

My husband and I went to the Sanderling Inn for an "anniversary" celebration (20 yrs).
The room was absolutely beautiful and very clean. The king size bed was so comfortable and we loved having all those pillows. The flat screen tv was very nice too!
Because it was our anniversary, we received a free couples massage which was so nice. The spa offers a wide variety of services. We also received a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries (yummy!!). The beach was beautiful and it was great that they have chairs, beach towels and umbrellas so you don't have to bring any of that. They also supply hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc.
EVERYTHING about the Inn is GREAT!!!! I could have stayed for the entire summer!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Marketing at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit and we look forward to your return.

Just wanted to clarify to our future guests that the couples massage is available when booking the Specials Occasion Package.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We went there to get some time alone as a couple. Perfect time of year for quiet, quality time with one another.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Every detail was attended to - from the excellent coffee served fireside in the morning to the exceptionally clean and well appointed room to the awesome food and the beautifully maintained grounds. The location allows quests access to a glorious stretch of beach as well as some private areas for cycling or hiking. From the moment we checked in until we departed from the driveway we felt that we were treated with the utmost respect. Every employee seemed to strive to make certain our stay was memorable - and they succeeded beyond our expectations. Although we are not "beach" people, we are already planning our next trip to the Sanderling in the fall simply because of the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along with the Left Bank restaurant, the property is now AAA 4 Diamond. In April 2011, a soft goods renovation was completed for all the guest rooms including carpet, paint and all new bedding including mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck, NC - Outer Banks
The Sanderling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderling Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.