We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely visit, even in the winter!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sanderling Resort to your Saves list
Sanderling Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Escape
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A lovely visit, even in the winter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a lovely four day stay at the Sanderling near the end of January. Although the weather was snowiy and the ground a bit icy, the beach was beautful and the crashing waves exciting! Of course we did not "hit the surf", but a walk on the beach was exhilerating. We really enjoyed the gym on-site. Our room was cozy...and the fireplace in the Lobby of our bulding was very enjoyable. The Lobby overlook in the main building allowed us to view the ocean over the Dunes!! Overall we had a great time of refreshing, resting and reflecting. Sincerely, Harry and Anne

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    130
    47
    12
    7
See reviews for
124
350
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have nothing but great things to say about this resort. We got a great deal by going in the "off" season for a Valentine's Day getaway. Great location. Beautiful room. You are in a perfect spot to catch sunrises AND sunsets!

Room Tip: The "Sunset View" rooms face the parking lot. Cheaper but you will have to walk across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was our fourth stay at the Sanderling. We love it for the quiet feel of a small beach inn on the off-season. We were very welcomed by Ashley who upon our arrival, took the time to show us three different rooms and allowed us to choose which we wanted to stay in. We liked that flexibility and the chance to see other rooms at the inn especially since we haven't been there since they've done some updating (which are very nice and we are glad to see that the property is being well maintained and updated). She also gave us some great tips on where to eat.

Unfortunately, we weren't impressed with the cleanliness of our room. It was evident that the edges of the carpet, behind the door and under the dresser hadn't been cleaned in awhile. There was a beer cap and part of a pretzel under the dresser. We were also surprised that there was no turn-down service. We like when housekeeping replenishes our water, puts out ice, and leaves us a little sweet at night. I would've thought a place as nice as the Sanderling would lend itself to turn-down service. Or possibly offering fresh baked cookies in the lobby at night. Touches like that always impress.

But besides that, the staff made our stay very comfortable and we enjoyed the hot tub out by the pool, the outdoor fire pit(complete with a s'mores kit in our room!), and the delicious food at the Life Saving restaurant. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there in the course of our stay. Each meal was quite yummy and the portions were more than generous! It's very nice to have a good quality restaurant right on site, especially during the off-season in the OBX when dining possibilities are more limited.

All-in-all, we will definitely be back to enjoy this beautiful spot.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been remodeled in a trendy beach theme. Very cute. Older rooms are typical hotel q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for the thorough review which will allow us to better serve our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the staff and culinary. We apologize your room was not satisfactory and we will work that these issues are not repeated for you or others. We look forward to your fifth visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenton, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This resort exceeded my expectations. It is a small resort but has all of the amenities that you may need. Everybody was very friendly. They light fire pits at night and they leave you smores in the room that you can roast by the fire. It was the little touches that made this place great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with others. We are glad we exceeded your expectations and glad you could enjoy the little touches. The firepits and s'mores were part of the renovations and everyone has really enjoyed them...both in the cooler temperatures and the summer heat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weluvadks
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our only regret during our recent stay at the Sanderling was that we had to cut it short because our daughter got sick. We had never been to Duck or the Sanderling before but we will definitely be back. The Sanderling is unassuming from the outside but the resort is a classic coastal paradise well suited for a couples getaway or family retreat. The staff we dealt with, mainly Nancy (Guest Services Manager) were thoughtful, accommodating, pleasant and friendly. The room was perfect with all the comforts of home and then some (including L'Occitane bath goodies, goose down comforter, a s'mores kit for the outdoor fire pit, etc…). The Sanderling's little touches, and their service, makes this place seem like a home away from home - we loved it.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room that is not on the main floor so you get a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Sorry you had to leave and hope your daughter is all better. We look forward to being able to pamper you on your return. Thank you for appreciating all the little touches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeville, Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Having heard about the Sanderling for years, I welcomed the opportunity to stay at the resort for our wedding anniversary. It truly met our expectations. The room was comfortable with a view of the ocean. Staff was attentive and caring. It truly is a casual elegant resort.
The on sight restaurant served delicious food while making us feel welcome and at home. The anniversary champagne and the dessert were the perfect touch.
We came home relaxed and eager to return to the Sanderling.

Room Tip: We were very pleased with our room in the north building overlooking the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We just stayed over the weekend for a quick getaway. If you are looking to completely unwind and relax, you need to stay here! The staff were extremely attentive. We had a room that upon check in, was next door to a noisy crowd. It also was not quite what we expected as the balcony was overlooking the parking lot. When the woman at the desk asked how we liked our room, we explained to her we thought we were getting a room with a beach view. She instantly got her keys and showed us 3 other rooms in the main building with a beach view. We had the romance package that included a bottle of champagne, so as my husband was going back to the room to move our things, she called the room to remind him to bring the champagne to our new room. We also booked a couple's massage at the Spa located across the street. We had a sound side view room, which was wonderful. We ate twice at the light-saving station also part of the resort. The food was very good, I would say the breakfast was excellent. You can also order it in your room, we split a breakfast as the portions are very big the second day. Make sure you ask the bartender for the smore package they give you if you go out to the gorgeous fire pit located outside. We travel all over, and everything at this resort is top end. They have spared no expense. The rooms are immaculate, and I was very sad to leave. I am anxiously awaiting next year so that we can come back! Note: If you get an opportunity, go into Duck and walk along the boardwalk on the sound there are wonderful little shops and a great coffee/book shop.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building on the ocean side are best, top floor you can see the ocean. Make sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience. We are glad you were able to relax and unwind! It's a great "little known secret" that off season is a wonderful time to be here. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along with the Left Bank restaurant, the property is now AAA 4 Diamond. In April 2011, a soft goods renovation was completed for all the guest rooms including carpet, paint and all new bedding including mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck, NC - Outer Banks
The Sanderling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderling Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.