We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return to the Sanderling Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderling Resort

Save Saved
You added Sanderling Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanderling Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Duck
Boise
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return to the Sanderling Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent two nights at The Sanderling Resort last may. We left our french doors open all night because we could hear the surf. We loved our room and the beach. Duck is a really cut4e town and we ate at a fantastic restaurant artoss the street-with the best raw oysters I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    369
    122
    45
    11
    7
See reviews for
119
324
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

When I get to travel, whih is not often I think about one thing - food! However, this trip took me by suprise. Our room was so comfortable that I didn't want to leave, the beds and bedding were soft, we had a great balcony off the room, and a huge bathroom! We ate dinner and breakfast the following morning...For dinner - Potato wrapped Rockfish over the most amazing Risotto and for breakfast crispy blueberry Belgian waffles and smoothies! Yummy! We got to meet the Chef - even had time to sit and chat with us, as we are always the last to leave. I highly recommend you check this place out!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ocean...worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I am looking at staying in one of the guest houses on the property, probably the goldeneye. Can anyone provide a review on it? Can we use all of the property amenities if we stay in the house? Is there a golf cart to get around?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for considering renting one of our homes. The homes do include all the amenities of the resort including the amenities such as the pools and services such as room service, housekeeping (daily towel exchange and garbage service) and offers a private beach access from Golden Eye. The property is not large enough for a golf cart. Everything is close and very walkable. Golden Eye has beautiful views of the Atlantic Ocean with a reverse floorplan -kitchen, living and family room on the 3rd level above the dune line to enjoy those views. Hope another traveler will comment on their experience. It's rented most of the time in shoulder and peak season so please do plan ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of 2 nights at the Sanderling for a family wedding celebration. First of all, I would like to say that what impressed me the most was the incredible friendliness of all the service people at this resort!! We were greeted with a genuine smile and warmth at reception upon arrival, and it did not stop there. Understood: service people are taught to be friendly, but here, the friendliness truly seems genuine and warm.

Our room was lovely (we were in the North Inn) and clean. And the bathroom was HUGE and immaculate! We were a little disappointed that we couldn't see the beach from our room, but we could hear the surf, and we enjoyed it's hushing sound all night through our open door to our balcony.

Room Tip: If you choose a room in the North Inn, be aware that you can't see the beach AND... if you are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights (added two after our 1st night) at the Sanderling in July 2012 and wished we could have stayed longer. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by friendly, accomodating staff and our two rooms were lovely, quiet, and comfy. We didn't get to try all they had to offer (spa & Fine Dining), but our experience at the main restaurant (Lifesaving Station) was superb all three nights and breakfasts. (The granola filled pancakes were my favourite!) We hope to return.

Room Tip: When requesting ocean view, specify 2nd floor or you will not be able to see over the dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I love the rooms, the bed, the balcony and all the little touches the Sanderling provided including the complimentary tea and cookies provided daily in the main lodge. The staff couldn't have been nicer. My husband and I took advantage of the "Heroes Welcome" deal as an Army Vet. This deal is also available to fireman and policeman. What a thoughtful gesture and a significant savings to those who qualify. The Lifesaving Station restaurant was our preference of the two restaurants on site as the prices were much more reasonable and the good delicious.

Room Tip: Stay in the main lodge if possible for bigger rooms. Upper levels have views of the ocean but cost m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the HEROES WELCOME. We will do it again in 2013 so keep an eye out. It is good for current and retired military, fire and rescue, police, and medical personnel. Our sister property, Hawks Cay, also does it if you are interested in a visit to the Keys. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was rather disappointed in the Sanderling, had two rooms and stayed two nights. The view of the oceanfront was spectacular and our waitress at the restaurant was excellent....otherwise not so good. Our room leaked, the mattress felt like it needed to be replaced, service was not friendly. Menu at the restaurant was very limited and they were out of most things on the menu.Just not at all what I expected. On our last day we were told the resort had been sold, would be closing and later reopen...so perhaps this is the reason for some of the negatives, The place just seemed rather gloomy. Just so you know they also had a 14 day notice for cancellation which I thought was rather excessive.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are the only way to go. We were on the third floor and views were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendycoulsonmurray, Director of Sales at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are making a number of improvements during the five months that we are closed. There will be all new menus in the restaurants and the Left Bank will have a new name, menu and concept. The mattresses were replaced the winter of 2011 when we did the room renovations. We hope you will come back to give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Duck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along with the Left Bank restaurant, the property is now AAA 4 Diamond. In April 2011, a soft goods renovation was completed for all the guest rooms including carpet, paint and all new bedding including mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck, NC - Outer Banks
The Sanderling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderling Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.