We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanderling Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sanderling Resort to your Saves list
Sanderling Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Escape
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife got me a weekend package at a discount for Xmas and we used it in late Feburary this year. The hotel is very well maintained. Lots of wood and sitting areas and a decent resturant. What really stood out was the staff. Everyone was welcoming and extremely helpful in all requests. I would imagine in season it is expensive to stay here, but if you can, the rooms are wonderful and the place itself will have you relaxed in no time...Can't say enough good things about it..
We didn't use the spa while here so I did not rate it, but if its like the rest of the property I'm sure it is excellent as well.

Room Tip: Off season you can get special rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    131
    47
    12
    7
See reviews for
125
359
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Our third trip was as wonderful as the first two. This is a quiet spot (in off season) for couples, families, individuals. Very low key, right on beach, great restaurants nearby, lovely tea in afternoon, very relaxing. Also has meeting space and function rooms..nice spot for a wedding or special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We've stayed at the Sanderling twice, once during high season in August and once in December. Both times we loved the simple nature-inspired decor of the hotel - with Audubon prints and charming framed Hermes scarves - and the spacious rooms. The staff are friendly and helpful and it's a fairly full service hotel with great room service, plus a cafe on site (the Lifesaving Station) serving delicious local food.

I do think calling it a "resort" is a little bit of an exaggeration, because the spa is across the street and the fitness center is a few miles down the road. I would describe it as more of a down-to-earth place flooded with natural beauty, then a glamorous over the top type place. Highlights for us were sitting outside in the hot tub at night hearing the waves crash (we even did this in December!), walks on the quiet and endlessly long stretch of beach, and a lovely massage overlooking the Sound at the simple but pretty Sanderling Spa.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth getting an ocean facing room with a little balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Wonderful stay Easter Weekend in a South Inn Ocean room. Though a tad overpriced for off-season . It was a last minute booking with my husband, so we stayed on the 2nd level - (there is a 3rd level suite w/water view) so did not quite see the ocean, just the dunes, but we fell asleep to the sound of pounding surf every night as we could leave door ajar given the latched screen door which only let in the sounds and ocean breezes.
Beds were extremely comfortable, linens were very soft, bathroom was huge and clean, amazingly large shower, long vanity, small table, arm chair, a rather sizable room with balcony which had 2 chairs and cocktail table.
Their South Inn lodging is adjacent to their Lifesaving Station Restaurant venue which was convenient for dinner (food was decent, limited menu selection, but waitstaff was friendly and setting was simple, casual and comfortable. Their breakfast menu was extensive, food was delicious and waitstaff attentive.
We ate at their 5-star restaurant, The Left Bank and took part in their 7 course tasting menu. Food was better than average, but not outstanding (I live in NYC so am a bit biased). But what sets it apart is the waitstaff and maître d. They were very courteous, knowledgeable and gave us EACH 2 glasses of wine (1 Red, 1 White) to pair with our courses gratis (you won't get that in NYC). We dined for about 3.5 hours and did not feel rushed once. Dimly lit, nice ambiance, sunset views...we had an amazing time.
The Sanderling has more of an Inn feeling than resort, but I would definitely return here, especially given the motel-like accommodations on the main OBX strip near Nags Head. The Inn is like in oasis, tucked away up north in the narrowness of Duck and far from the noise, traffic, chock-a-block t-shirt stores and carnival feel as you head south towards Hatteras.
Pros - quiet, clean, intimate setting, good food, nice staff, Inn special touches like afternoon tea & cookies, turn down service, a bowl of apples in the entrance-way, tea/coffee station set up each morning in each floors' sitting room with newspapers laid out, fireplace lit and rocking chairs on each floors common area balconies....it has an island onto itself feel. Beach is picturesque.
Cons - a bit of a drive if you want to check out the other OBX attractions and a bit pricey for off-season. Nearest bar is about 4-5 min drive and bar at Lifesaving Station closed before 11pm on a Saturday night which was frustrating b/c we did not want to drive. Gift shop doesn't have prices on items which was annoying.
Would recommend for romantic get-away, quiet weekend away and for families.
(Caveat - did not check out the Small Fitness area, Spa or Outdoor Swimming Pool which is across the street)

Room Tip: North Inn for sunsets they overlook the sound. Main Inn equidistant to everything. South Inn next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Beautiful resort! The staff is outstanding in the resort and in the spa. The views from each room is breathtaking! In theafternoon they serve tea and wonderful cookies.....A beautiful area of the coast as it can be without all of the fast food and junk stores that seem to find their way to the beaches

Room Tip: all rooms have a small porch facing the ocean..I would say opt for the 3rd floor; the view is better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This was our second stay at the Sanderling, and we have been met both times with smiles and hospitality. Everything is clean, beds are super comfortable, and the food is delicious. The staff really take care of their guests. We had a room service breakfast on our balcony as we listened to the waves crash and it was such a relaxing way to start our day. We'll be getting married at the Sanderling in July and we look forward to staying there during the most important days of our lives! We know we'll be treated well and won't have to worry about anything.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We were part of a fairly large group of Carolina fans that gets together most years at a destination that offers good restaurants, accomodations and some degree of privacy. I believe this was our fourth trip to the Sanderling Inn and once again, they did everything within their power to make our stay a wonderful experience.
In addition to the normal amenities, they made the business center available to our group-maybe to protect the other guests-including a very nice catered dinner that Friday.
The staff was particularly engaging and helpful with reservations and tee times and unfailingly friendly. We wre looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanderling Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderling Resort

Address: 1461 Duck Road, Duck, NC 27949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Duck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanderling Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along with the Left Bank restaurant, the property is now AAA 4 Diamond. In April 2011, a soft goods renovation was completed for all the guest rooms including carpet, paint and all new bedding including mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanderling Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanderling Hotel Duck
Sanderling Resort Duck, NC - Outer Banks
The Sanderling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanderling Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.