We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mecca for doughnut lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duck Donuts

Duck Donuts
1190 Duck Rd, Duck, NC 27949
(252) 480-3304
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Duck
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A mecca for doughnut lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you like donuts, you will love these. If you don't like donuts, you will love these. There is no seating (you can look out on the bay from the back deck area), but you come to Duck Donuts to take them back to the house and savor them - if you make it back before the kids eat them all!! For a two week trip to Duck, I'd estimate we got Duck Donuts 6 times. They have a consistency similar to that of a beignet, that's as close as I can describe them. You have an ample choice of toppings, they are freshly made and are outstanding. Don't gripe about the price, you're on vacation for goodness sake. Full disclosure - last time we went was summer 2010.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    135
    35
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great idea, great for kids.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Another simple review.

First, we're talking donuts. Let's not go crazy. But, they have made it very fun. They make all their donuts right there, and you can watch the process. Kids love this part.

The donuts are good. I mean, aren't most donuts kinda good. These have a slightly more sophisticated and accomplished touch because you saw them being made.

Go ahead and grab donuts for breakfast one morning on your trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Made-to-Order donuts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was a great find for us. All donuts are made to order, and the kids can match the entire process. We especially liked the "french toast donut", which was pretty delicious without being overly sweet.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bald Head Island, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over Rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stopped in to get coffee and donuts, they offer only TWO blends of coffee. Help your self to cream and sugar. I think the donuts would have been much better if we could have eaten them hot, due to lack of seating, we had to take them back to the hotel. They ONLY offer ONE table outside. Greasy soggy donuts just are not good. 6 donuts,2 coffees $14.00. Not for me.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, NC
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good as advertised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Read nothing but good things, and I add my raves to the rest. Got chocolate frosted and strawberry frosted. The chocolate was very rich and luscious, but the doughnut itself was crispy and light. Strawberry was also excellent. We're in the fan club.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duck Donuts also viewed

 
Duck, Outer Banks
 

Been to Duck Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck Donuts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.