We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful evening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Restaurant

Aqua Restaurant
1174 Duck Road, Lower Level, Duck, NC 27949
+1 252-261-9700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aqua Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 30 Restaurants in Duck
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 12 North
Description: Waterfront dining in the village of Duck. Lunch, dinner, & bar with dynamic sunset views. Award winning wine list, full bar with signature martinis, contemporary, regionally inspired cuisine, with a children's menu and groups encouraged. Live music and sushi in season. Events and weddings; no better venue on the water. Cheers, let's meet at AQUA!
Fredericksburg, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a beautiful evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I went to Duck for New Years weekend and had a lovely meal at Aqua Restaurant. The food, wine and service could not have been better. I would highly recommend it if you are ever down on the outer banks.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    90
    55
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Eh - but the view is worth it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Aqua came through a search I did for vegetarian friendly, but it wasn't - literally my only choices were a plain salad and fries. They had rutabaga soup that sounded delicious...couldn't they have just used veggie broth? But no, apparently they used chicken broth.

My husband saw the waiter walk by with something that looked like fish tacos, which was what he wanted (Coastal Cantina was closed). When he asked about them, the waiter said "Those aren't on the menu, the chef made them for one of the investors." Really? Good service would have been "Let me see if we can get some for you." My husband ended up with fish and chips that he said were kind of soft, not crispy. He was happy with the beer selection.

Probably wouldn't go back. View was amazing though!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AQUAobx, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
I remember you both; because I also talked to you about the tacos. We were trying out how we wanted the fish inside. My personal apologies that your husband did not get what he wanted and that we overlooked your dietary needs as well. Chef has lots of great veggies and accompaniments, please let us know any details that can help us serve you better! Sincerely, Lynette Sumner, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice place but to call it organic overstretches it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I came here because in open table they advertise as organic. When you check their menu in the internet (which is not even up to date) there is mainly croutons, some greens and one cheese, the rest is not organic (the actual menu onsite was similar or lesss). It might be local which some people belive is the same as oragnic but this is by far not the same.
I went nevertheless.
Nice ambiente (wooden tables etc) and great sunset view (plus-plus: even as a solo diner I was seated at a very nice table, this is mostly not the case in other places). The service was all-american, rushed and effective, I had three courses and was out in one hour. The bread and butter for starters was very yummy, the entree (mahi-mahi with something pasta/grain (the waiter spoke so fast and no loud enough, I did not get anything except the main parts), 4 tiny bits of asparagus and 4 mussels), good size when you are on a diet or want just a small meal. Tasted not bad but nothing extra-ordinary. I took a dessert as well, mousse was nice, ice cream with it (supposed to be chocolate) watery. But the portion was so outragingly big (served in a big mug), compared to the entree, it would have been enough for 4 people.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AQUAobx, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
I will make a note to look at the catagories on Trip Advisor, organic is a descriptor in their checklist for restaurants. We do use organic core ingredients, spices & veggies that compose dishes; as many as possible depending on the season. Thank you for the comments on service and on portion size, your observations are appreciated . In Service, Lynette Sumner, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Another Nice Place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The food is quite nice as is the atmosphere. The last time we were there thsy took pains to put people with childern iin one area and those without in another. A nice thought.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Always a favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Ate here a few nights ago and it was just as good as it was when we were here in May - even though it's off season now. The "bangin' shrimp" appetizer is inspired as are the scrumptious desserts.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aqua Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.