We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvest Grill

Harvest Grill
230 Cabernet Ln, Dobson, NC 27017-6322
(336) 366-3590
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Harvest Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Dobson
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: none
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great food & Atmosphere. You sit in the restaurant & look out to the winery & vines. A great trip to eat, drink & stay

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    45
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Two couples finished our day of North Carolina wineries here. We were too late to see the vineyards but had a great dinner at Harvest Grill. The wine tastings and flights in the restaurant were dramatically served and very economical. The food was great and there was enough variety that everyone had trouble deciding. Offering starters, small plates and entrees...there was something for every appetite. The desserts were all delicious (yes, we had them ALL by choosing two samplers). We were also impressed with the cheese plate which focused on some local ingredients. Stop by if you're in the area. It is very close to interstate 77 and would be worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food, terrible service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Traveling I-77 and stumbled across this gem thanks to TripAdvisor. Drove about 2.5 miles off the interstate through some gorgeous farmland, back a long lane of the winery. The scenery itself is worth the drive. Has to be one of the prettiest places we've visited in quite awhile. The menu is limited but there is still a range of items to fit most palates. We tried the SW burger and the buttermilk chicken salad. Both were excellent. Wonderful flavors, very fresh, and filling. Be warned; the burger is messy but well worth the multi-napkin experience. As a side, try the key lime cole slaw. That hint of lime makes for such a unique flavor and gives it a burst of freshness and "summer." Just had to try the SW banana split. It was definitely worth our "sacrifice"; we would have licked the platter clean if alone. Unfortunately, this great dining experience was marred by terrible service. We watched as table after table emptied of those who arrived after us. Our waitress took forever on every aspect of our meal: greeting us, getting our drinks, taking our order, refilling drinks, giving us our bill and returning our change.... We were off the road well over 1.5 hours which was ridiculous given the size of the lunch crowd. Didn't seem like this service was representative of the restaurant but still. The food was outstanding but if traveling on a schedule, be aware.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Airy NC
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lighter Fare, But Not in Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nothing can beat the setting for sure. It is picture perfect complete with babbling brook. The menu is limited just as Food Network chefs recommend. With a vegetarian in a our group, this sometimes can be a problem. There were several choices...he ordered the Southwestern Bean Tart and reported it was yummy. However, he did not know why it was considered a tart. His wife ordered the vegetable panini . She said it was Delicious but it was very small serving. My trout was dry and the serving was only one side of the fish. I've always gotten 2 fillets when I've ordered it. The relish was unusual but tasty. Are 3 pork cracklings worth mentioning? The potato salad was very tasty, The pimento cheese was on several plates. Its a creamy mixture, very light and refreshing. My husband opted for sirloin and absolutely loved it. He shared a bite of the spinach and I was pleased with its flavor and texture.

The food was excellent and the service prompt. The large table next to us was a little loud and we couldn't filter out their conversations. TMI .
Lunch with tip was a little over $80 for 4. If we had opted for an appetizer and a dessert, it might have been filling. As it was, after a quick wine tasting, we opted for large ice cream sundaes at home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Harvest Grill... what a trill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Wife and I travel to the area once a year and the Harvest Grill is one of the destinations we have to visit! The meal was once again out of this world. Took advantage of the special package offered at the Hampton Inn (which is managed by the same company that owns the Shelton Vineyard). The appetizers, main course and the desserts were out of this world! We started out with and shared the Crab Cakes and assorted cheese appetizers. Rib-eye steaks were both our selections for the main course and they were cooked to perfection. (Would recommend going with the red wine recommendation on the menu with the steak). Then… after all that … the desserts. There is a list of at least a dozen and all of them were tempting. In the past, we have chosen the “assorted dessert” item, but with the special package, we mixed it up ourselves. I chose the grilled pound cake with strawberries and ice-cream. My wife selected the 3 Sherbets. Needless to say, we both had to loosen up a notch on the belts… what an evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harvest Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvest Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.