We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmine's Italian & Pizzeria Restaurant

Carmine's Italian & Pizzeria Restaurant
134 Twin Oaks Road, Dobson, NC 27017
(336) 353-9405
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 restaurants in Dobson
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Wonderful food,service: excellent . We enjoyed a relaxing meal,we were not rushed in and out .our appetizers came out and were perfect we had the fryed ravioli so good. A great couples date night .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    11
    5
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Over-rated & Over-priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We met here with several friends to try a new local restaurant. The best thing about our experience was the wonderful waitress. As we were leaving she thanked us and told us that we were a lot of fun and she really enjoyed waiting on us. I ordered stuffed shells. Served on a large plate with 3 shells. The pasta was tough and the sauce bland. It came with a salad (lettuce, olives, onion and grape tomatoes) and I ordered blue cheese dressing which was too tangy/sour to eat. My husband ordered Philly Cheese Steak sub served with fries and said it was okay. He'd had better. I expected much better food at these prices. Stuffed Shells $12. sub $7.50. Plus a 20% gratuity.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Went to this restaraunt tonight with some friends. I got veal parm. It was OK but kinda bland. Wife got some kind of dish with potato dumplings in sauce and she couldn't eat it and sent it back and told them to bring her the Steak. They charged full price 25.95 for it and she wound up getting it boxed up because everyone else was finished eating. The veal was 14.00 and gratuity was over 12.00. The waitress was great though and very knowledgeable about the food served there. She was the best part of the restaraunt

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Really good eggplant parmigiana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I had not been here before and now regret it. The food was great. The eggplant parmigiana was perfect withe the right amount of breading, sauce and cheese. They have whole wheat pasta, if you prefer. The prices are only slightly higher than other restaurants in the area, but the food is much better. I heard very favorable comments from other diners about their pizza.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A Special Location but an ordinary restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Carmine's is located at the Dobson exit on I-77. Location is special because the Shelton Winery/Vineyard is just down the road. But the restaurant is just average/ordinary. I had the Lobster Ravioli; 6 pieces is all that I was served but the price was larger than the entrée. The taste was very good, no fault with that but to have such a large plate come out with a small serving was a bit disconcerting. They would have been better to use a smaller serving dish just to give the perception that the portion was larger. Restaurant was a bit noisy......no acoustical material in the restaurant, so intimate conversation is out. Server was fair....a bit too prissy and not the brightest bulb in the box. This could become a very elegant restaurant and a nice romantic setting but use smaller serving pieces and the portions will appear larger and worth the price of admission.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmine's Italian & Pizzeria Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carmine's Italian & Pizzeria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmine's Italian & Pizzeria Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.