We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large rooms with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   248 WBI Drive, Dillsboro, NC 28725   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dillsboro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“large rooms with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

We only stayed 1 night at this hotel but we will certainly be back again. The rooms were very clean and larger than expected. We had a wonderful river view from our room and balcony. The front desk staff was friendly and the breakfast attendant was great. Breakfast starts at 6 am which helps when you need to hit the road. It is a full bufet with lots of packaged food you could take in the car if you don't have time to sit. The only complaints about the hotel is the walls are thin in the rooms, if you have neighbors you'll know it and the beds could be more firm. However for us the nice large room and the river view made up for it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    111
    19
    12
    9
See reviews for
177
172
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

I just retured from a wonderful weekend at the hotel. My room was very clean and the breakfast attendant was wonderful. I normally travel here on business so this was my first leasure trip. The staff were very helpful with ideas of things to do in the area. Loved the waterfalls they recommended we hike.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

This hotel was booked through the Great Smokey Mountain Railroad Company (GSMRRC) for a weekend trip for the family to ride the train with our children. When we woke up Monday morning the room and the bathroom was full of ants.

We quickly packed up and checked out.

When we pointed out the condition of the room, we were advised that the hotel wouldn't charge us for the room upgrade that we were given (we never were advised of this at check in or by the GSMRRC). We were told any complaint would have to be directed to the GSMRRC.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

My family stayed at this hotel in October 2007. We had a King Suite overlooking the river and it was a really nice, quaint hotel. There is very little to do in Dillsboro but we considered the $65 room rate a good deal for the location and view. My family is contemplating a ride on the Smoky Mountain Railway for this October and since it departs in Dillsboro we thought we might stay at this Best Western again. Imagine how shocked I was when I went to the web site and learned that, even with my government discount, the same room we paid $65 for last year is over $200 this year. I even went back and checked my credit card from last year as I coulnd't imagine that I remembered correctly when the price was so high this year. Needless to say, this is not a full-service hotel and I am unclear how they are justifying the HUGE price increase - over 3x's what it was last year. While I think it is a decent place to stay if I want to pay $200 for a room I can find a much nicer hotel with more amenities and a nicer view. I can stay at the Grove Park Inn for as much as this hotel is charging. Used to be a good deal but sadly this is no longer the case.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

The location is both great and terrible, great in that it is located directly near the river with a wonderful deck with old fashioned rocking chairs for enjoying. However we had our GPS and though it needs new maps downloaded we had no matches for the street address. Its tucked away and hidden, but it is new and certainly beautiful. The room was perfectly clean and so was the indoor pool, hot tub and fitness room. A little expensive but I would save my money and return given the opportunity. Our queen bed was very comfortable too. If your in Dillsboro give it a try...if you have a little patience and find it.

  • Liked — cleanliness & being right on the river
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heilbronn, Germany
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

We have some wonderful days in the BW River Escape Inn & Suites.

The location is quite great and the staff very helpfull.
We booked a room without balcony but if we arrvied at the hotel we want a balcony. I ask at the reception if we can change the room. That was no problem and we get our balcony.

You can get all what you need at the breakfast and coffee all the time.

The beds are very comfortable and the room is very clean.

  • Liked — Location, Hotel at all
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntertown, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

Nice, clean place to stay. Breakfasts were very good. People at the desk were very friendly. I am glad we had a nice place to stay because Dillsboro, NC is dead. There is really nothing to do in the town. I wanted to get away fom the crowds in Gatlinburg, but still have some shopping and stuff to do for the rest of the family when we were not on hikes. I think Cherokee would have been ideal.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites

Address: 248 WBI Drive, Dillsboro, NC 28725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dillsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus River Escape Hotel Dillsboro
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn And Suites
Best Western Dillsboro
Dillsboro Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.