We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People Nice and Rooms Clean just needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   248 WBI Drive, Dillsboro, NC 28725   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Dillsboro
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“People Nice and Rooms Clean just needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The front desk staff were super helpful. The rooms were outdated but relatively clean (did find some change on the floor which make me wonder about the level of cleanliness). The brunch was fine. The view (river front) was spectacular. I think it is perfect for what it is there for - a quick trip to the mountains or to the casino. Great location for a walk. And, again, the scenery is perfect!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwriverescape, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are planning a full renovation in the future. However, many things have been recently updated in each room including all linens and bedding and the new 42" LED flat screen televisions.

I hope you'll come back and see us again! I appreciate your compliment on our stunning view of the Tuckasegee River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    83
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
136
125
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very roomy. We selected a river view room. While it was December, we lucked into a warm enough day that we could sit on the balcony and watch the ducks on the river. Very clean. Megan at the front desk was most helpful. We were even able to see the room before deciding on it.
Breakfast was okay, but not notable.

Room Tip: If you get there while it is still daylight, ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwriverescape, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review of our property. The ducks in the Tuckasegee river are always fun to watch. They often venture into our parking lot to say hello too. I appreciate you taking the time to compliment our Director of Sales, Megan Orr.

Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I love it here! He enjoys Harrah's Casino and this hotel is not that far from Cherokee. I love the fact that it is directly riverfront. The view from the balcony is beautiful! We discovered this place years ago while tubing and have been back multiple times. When we brought the kids one time, they went tubing right here-we didn't have to drive. Huge rooms with microwave and fridge. The breakfast choices are great. Definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonvill
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

2nd time staying here for Polar Express train ride with the kids. Great hotel with lots of room for families. 15-20 minute ride to Bryson City for train excursions. Pretty view of river if you choose.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Mountain, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We returned to Dillsboro to see the lights and do some Christmas Shopping this year, our last trip was 2 years ago. Check-in was less than pleasant as we had to wait for someone to help us-the clerk on Saturday afternoon was quite terse and unpleasant. Breakfast on Sunday was pathetic. Coffee was weak, bananas were almost rotten, biscuits were as hard as a rock. For a self named "full hot breakfast" it was really lacking in variety. All of which contrasts to our last stay, and this one cost twice as much. Carpeting in the hallways was full of lumps. Someone with poor vision or balance would easily trip. All in all the room was nice, as well as clean. It's doubtful that we will choose to stay here again

Room Tip: If you'll be there for more than one night do opt for a river front rooom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwriverescape, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I want to apologize that your experience this time around was less than enjoyable. As you noted from previous experience with our property this is not typical for us. We always strive to exceed expectations and I am sorry that we did not do that during your stay.

I appreciate your honest criticism and will use it to better our property in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I hope you will come back sometime in the future so we can prove we are still that hotel you love and we're worth the visit every Lights & Luminaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently stayed at this property to ride the Polar Express in Bryson City. We were part of a group from my son's school and the hotel a was great choice for our group. The staff was very accomodating and our room was great. Even with a bunch of kids running around it was still reasonably quiet and everything was very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in November 2012 to visit her parents.

The first thing I'll say about this hotel is that you want a unit with a river view. The river views are spectacular, and to start your day with a blast of nature is invigorating.

Some trivia about the hotel: The scen in the movie "The Fugitive" in which a train crashes was filmed here, and the old train is still there. Kind of cool.

We took our nephews swimming in the pool. The pool was indoors, and at a comfortable temparature. The pool room itself was a little dingy, but sufficient.

The lobby was really classy. We stayed there the night of thanksgiving, and many visiting families spent time in the lobby together. At once comfortable and also nicely decorated.

The room was clean and comfortable with no signs of bed bugs.

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a riverside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites

Address: 248 WBI Drive, Dillsboro, NC 28725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Dillsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus River Escape Hotel Dillsboro
Best Western Dillsboro
Dillsboro Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS River Escape Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.