We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we found The Chalet Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chalet Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dillsboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalet Inn
285 Lone Oak Drive, Dillsboro, NC 28789   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Dillsboro B&B and Inns
Glenshaw, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Glad we found The Chalet Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

While researching places to stay south of Smoky Mountain National Park, I came across The Chalet. We originally were planning to stay only one night in the area, but the Chalet sounded so charming, we decided to change our plans and stay the two nights they required. We were so glad we did.

We arrived in a big rainstorm, and Matt, the intern, greeted us at our car with two large umbrellas, to help us in.

This is a very relaxing place. The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful, with fresh baked goodies and a nice selection of hot and cold options. George was very helpful in suggesting places to see, and in providing maps.

We hiked the trails and enjoyed a game of bocce ball.

Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Inn keepers are all fantastic, welcoming, and accommodating. We felt very comfortable and well cared for during our stay at this European feeling Chalet.
They offer several outdoor activities, while appreciated, do need some TLC. There's one hidden hammock that was usable, the directions for the games have all faded and are not legible, the directional signs on the hiking trail are falling or are down at a critical point and the trail itself has some areas that should be improved for safety.
The room was very tidy and the bedding was comfortable though we noticed a large older stain on the sheets. The room and bathroom were clean other than that, and we would return to The Chalet Inn because it was pleasant and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChaletInn, Owner at The Chalet Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
“Charming, Quaint yet still a work in progress”

Re: "we noticed a large older stain on the sheets. The room and bathroom were clean other than that"

The stain is totally unacceptable and certainly not up to our standards. We emphasize to our guests we have a staff member present 24 hours a day and provide an intercom service 24/7 to contact the on-duty staff member. We also emphasize we do not want to hear about a problem the next morning that we could have corrected right away if we knew about it. It would have been no problem to have provided a total linen change when they noticed the stain. Worse case, we would have appreciated knowing about the stain before they departed rather than reading about it on the Internet days later. We have an Associate Innkeeper responsible for housekeeping who checks the performance of the housekeepers and Hanneke regularly spot checks to insure that we continue to earn our 100% A Rating by the NC Health Department on their twice a year unannounced inspections. Be sure, as soon as we read this review, we went through and unfolded and inspected every linen in the linen closet as well as on the beds. Again, no excuses; the B&B Housekeeper during this subject visit was a new employee and is no longer with us.

Re: "There's one hidden hammock that was usable"

Not correct: there are three hidden hammocks, all of which were and are useable. Two are truly hidden and you have to follow the trail map to find them! However, access to one was closed to use by guests because in the last windstorm a very large tree had been damaged and was a danger of falling on the access trail to the hidden hammock. Two days after the referenced visit, the tree was on the ground and the hammock will be open for guest's use as soon as the tree is removed from the trail accessing the hammock.

Re: "the directional signs on the hiking trail are falling or are down at a critical point"

As soon as we read this review, George personally hiked all 8 trails and found the guests were correct in that of the 30 trail signs, 2 of them were flipped upside down because a branch had hit them and broken the upper nail and a third sign had been knocked off the tree, but a kind guest had leaned it up against the base of the tree. In addition to providing our guests a map of our hiking trails, the map is also annotated to point out that if there is not a trail sign by what may look like a trail it is in reality is a fire break and should not be used or construed as a trail. George re-nailed the three signs.

Re: "the trail itself has some areas that should be improved for safety"

We have contacted the guests to determine the location they are referring to, since George was unable to identify any such area. In addition to the maps available to take with you while hiking, in the Great Room is a color-coded map of the trails showing the degree of difficulty of each trail. While some are more strenuous than others, we do not know of any considered dangerous or unsafe. Over the past years, we have widened some trails so couples can walk hand-in-hand, and graded portions of some trails so they are wheel-chair accessible. When we purchased the property, we already decided to be good stewards of the land and choose to participate in North Carolina's Forestry program. We are a NC Registered Forest - having successfully completed our first 20 Year Forestry Plan and now embarked on a new 20 year plan prepared by a NC Forester to enhance and preserve our forested lands. We don't know of any other Lodging Establishments in this area of our size that have undertaken this effort.

Re: "the directions for the games have all faded and are not legible"

Guilty as charged: we were aware of it, however it was not the highest priority on our "To Do" list, but has been corrected. When we were visiting B&B's and Inns trying to learn more about the business and looking for one to buy, one of the things that struck us was how B&B's would say in their marketing: "lawn games and/or hiking trails available," yet, when we visited them, we would only find a croquet set on the porch that you had to set up yourself if you wanted to play or a field or woods you could go into, but no discernible trail. After experiencing this, we decided if we were going to market these amenities - and we wanted to - we would actually have courts set up (The badminton, horse shoe pits & tether ball courts are currently being renovated; croquet and bocci ball are playable.) We do not know of any other lodging facilities of our size and/or price range in Western NC, that have courts established where you just walk up and play, or cut and graded trails throughout their woods. And, yes, sometimes we fall short as we did here: during the winter the laminated instructions on the game stands got weathered.

Re: "The Inn keepers are all fantastic, welcoming, and accommodating . . . we would return to The Chalet Inn because it was pleasant and comfortable."

We really appreciate that comment and that is the essence of us and our staff. We want everyone to feel welcome - we will do our absolute best to accommodate all our guest's needs and wishes to make them/you feel comfortable and provide an opportunity to escape the pressures of every-day life. We hope we will get an opportunity to host Katsong again and do a better job of meeting her expectations.

We also hope any guest, who feels we fell short of their expectations, will tell us while they are here and give us the opportunity to excel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

As soon as we pulled up in the driveway, we were instantly greeted and welcomed inside for a tour. Hanneke and George were amazing and so nice, as well as the rest of the staff. The breakfast was above & beyond what was expected, and so so SO delicious! We could not believe the abundant food selections we were given. The property.. oh my goodness the property!! It was beautiful. When it came to exploring the area, Hanneke was very knowledgeable about everything The Smoky Mountains had to offer us and provided maps and routes to follow. They also allow you to use a membership pass to the local country club, which was nice even though we never had time to use it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a magical, European-style place to stay in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Innkeepers Hanneke and George have done a marvelous job with the property, which includes a lovely pond, winding paths and floral landscaping, and views of the mountains. The place really looks like an Alpine chalet. Hanneke is Dutch and is fluent in many languages, and I enjoyed speaking German with her and George. I enjoyed the crisp sheets on the comfortable bed. Breakfast was a real European treat, and they went out of their way to make us very comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Paradise Found! We were looking for a place to rest and enjoy the mountains and we found it! The Inn was away from everything yet close to everything. Our room in the Chalet Suites, the service, and the food were awesome. We enjoyed the breakfast each day (way too much for us to eat it all) and loved the Goulash soup and the German Fest meal (both optional). Can't say enough good things about the staff. They made you feel like you were the only guests there. Many thanks to the staff for making a special time in our lives even more special! You will not be disappointed if you stay here and we encourage you to "try it, you'll like it"!

Room Tip: Two options: Chalet Inn or Chalet Suites. We loved the building with the Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were exploring this region and decided to stop by O'Malley's Irish Pub in Sylva for St. Patrick's Day. Staying at a chain hotel did not appeal to us at all, and we were delighted to find the Chalet Inn just a few miles outside of town. The Inn is unpretentious, comfortable, clean and very restful. It reminded us so much of European inns. We found the staff to be extremely accommodating and helpful. We loved the homey feel of the living area, and the fact that it was stuffed with great books and had a welcomed fire in the fireplace. We also loved the trails on the property, a good way to walk off the pub food from the night before! We want to thank the staff for their suggestions. I love to drive on mountain roads, and they sent us home in a direction we had not taken in the past. We would definitely go back, especially to take a needed break from city life!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed having a balcony with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Sometimes B&B's get the stigma of being for the older couples, but being a couple in our later twenties, we loved The Chalet Inn. My boyfriend is an avid fly fisherman and has been to Cherokee many times to fish. When finding a place to spend news years, we were looking for an affordable place to spend a long weekend. We live in Midtown Atlanta and wanted to escape the city for a weekend and couldn't have been happier with the inn. We were greeted by name and the drive here was easy. We loved our suite room and it had every amenity of a 'city' hotel that we are used to. We enjoyed wine in the main lodge and then were off to dinner. We would definitely recommend this place to younger couples looking for a great escape and a peaceful retreat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chalet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Inn

Address: 285 Lone Oak Drive, Dillsboro, NC 28789
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Smoky Mountains > Jackson County > Dillsboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dillsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Inn is the closest B&B and Boutique Hotel to the main entrance of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. AAA 3-diamond lodging. The Chalet Inn includes two buildings constructed in traditional Alpine style, nestled in a 22 acre private forest where the Smoky Mountains meet the Blue Ridge Mountains in Western North Carolina. Chalet Inn is a romantic Smokey Mountain bed and breakfast with European ambiance offering Jacuzzi and/or fireplace suites, large or economy rooms all with private balconies or patios. Chalet Suites is a modern Smoky Mountain boutique hotel offering self-contained jacuzzi and fireplace suites with private entrances and upscale amenities to include AppleTV with NetFlix and Internet Radio. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chalet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Chalet Inn to your Saves list