We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shatley Springs Inn

Shatley Springs Inn
407 Shatley Springs Rd, Crumpler, NC
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Crumpler
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
North Wilkesboro, NC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“So good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This restaurant has finally gotten new chairs and they are much more comfortable than the old rickety ones. The food was delicious. Ham, bacon, eggs, biscuits, gravy, grits, pancakes, etc. Family style breakfast worth the drive!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    17
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crumpler, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A must visit in Ashe County for great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Family style dining at it's best! All you can eat, and it's all made from scratch! If you want country cooking this is the place to go! If you leave here hungry it's your own fault!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent a weekend there and stayed in one of their cabins. The food was amazing and more then you could hope for. Had dinner and breakfast there and truly loved the staff who treated you like family. Would recommend to anyone who wants great food on a day trip through the blue ridge mountains.

The date says April '12 but it was actually in sept of '11. site would not let me back date it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro NC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Family style country breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have been numerous times its always great.Always plenty to eat,always good food.Most always offer a bag of ham and biscuits to take home.Makes for a good start for a ride on the Blue Ridge Parkway.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE WORST MEAL EVER!! 7th October 2012.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was the worse meal we have ever had in our lives. My husband & I were recommended this restaurant for an evening meal as the restaurant at the Eldreth Inn was closed being a Sunday evening. I ordered Country Fried ham, mash & peas. My fork bent, as I tried to cut into the shoe leather piece of ham, the mash was instant & the peas were tinned. I complained & the waitress returned with more shoe leather ham, instant mash & tinned peas!! Also, the whole thing was luke warm!! If this is Appalachian Home Style Cooking - they can keep it! Go there only if you like this kind of food & are willing to pay for poor quality!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shatley Springs Inn also viewed

 
West Jefferson, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
West Jefferson, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Shatley Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shatley Springs Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.