We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is What You Make It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pettigrew State Park

Pettigrew State Park
2252 Lake Shore Road, Creswell, NC 27928
252-797-4475
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Creswell
Activities: Camping, Hiking, Fishing
Attraction details
Pilot, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It is What You Make It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Isolated...peaceful...this is the type of place you seek out purposefully. The ranger said it best, "you have to really work to get here". You come here for quiet exploration. We set out for a weekend of adventure and were openminded enough to find pleasure in the simplicity of the place...we canoed along the north shoreline of Lake Phelps (the sunset here is truly NOT to be missed!) hiked every trail park had to offer. We marveled at Somerset plantation... We drove along Shore Drive to Cypress Point, Pocosin Natural Area and were surprised and delighted to have that entire area to ourselves! The wildlife abounds here, especially for those willing to go 'the extra mile'. Watch for FROGS all around, even at the campsites and the path to the bathhouse! Spider webs can be annoying all along the trails...every few feet we had to swat away webs strewn across at eye level. All the spiders we saw were not harmful, though appeared quite scary. We saw a female canopy jumping spider on the fencepost around the goats at Somerset. Since we were there during autumn, the bugs seemed minimal. But we did not escape several mosquito bites, despite heavy coating of bugspray....so come prepared and stay alert...There are 3 types of venomous snakes here but we never encountered any, nor did we see a black bear which we were told are in abundance here. Nonetheless, what most people would dislike about this place, we absolutely love. We selfishly would prefer to keep quiet about it, it's the type of place we hope never changes.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No canoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I were exploring the Sound Country for the first time and with our handy travel books we found this State Park. We were especially interested in the canoes retrieved from the lake bottom. However after finding the Park we were told the canoes were not there and had not been there for several years. The Ranger was very accommodating and gave us a personal guided tour down to the lake edge. It is a beautiful camping area and the lake was choppy which made for some great pictures. Fascinating ecology and history of the lake. Would definitely recommend to people who wish to camp in quiet, out of the way places.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for astrophotography”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I found this park by looking at a light pollution map and this place has among the darkest skies in North Carolina, for most of the east coast actually. Perfect for astrophotography and the ranger is friendly and willing to turn off the boat ramp light upon request

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Piece of Paradise on earth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have camped here in Mid to late April several times. This is my favorite place to camp in NC and we've been to just about all of them. If you are looking for tourist type places then head to the coast,but if you're looking a place to get back to basics, enjoy wildlife & to get away from the rat race, then this State Park is the place to be. There is great paddling on the Scuppernong River that is real close, plus you can always put your boat in on Phelps Lake, but if the wind kicks up forget it, unless you are looking for a good workout. There are several places to go close by for "vacation" type things, but we prefer to hang out on park property. And the Rangers and staff are amazing!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Timing and Flexibility are Everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The lake is beautiful. It is worth visiting. I would not visit in the spring or summer. The best time to see the lake is between the first hard frost in the fall and the first warm days in spring. Kayaking or canoeing on the lake looks to be a lot of fun, but a windy day will put small whitecaps on the water. The lake is just that wide. The staff at the park are very friendly and the campsites look good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pettigrew State Park also viewed

 

Been to Pettigrew State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pettigrew State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.