We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place for quick bite of seafood and bbq” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Crabs Rib Co.

Fat Crabs Rib Co.
1159 Austin St, Corolla, NC 27927
(252) 453-9931
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 62 restaurants in Corolla
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great local place for quick bite of seafood and bbq”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Eight of us went here one evening while on vacation. Small little diner feel which was comforting after a long road trip. The chowder was outstanding. The gumbo was fairly good. The stream pot portions were large and pretty good. A little salty for my taste but still delicious. The bbq was pretty good as well. I'd recommend this for a casual bite & decent food. Heard the blue crab is phenomenal but didn't get to try it yet. Key lime pie was amazing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    52
    40
    21
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“casual place great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

we were 6 adults and 5 kids everyone loved what they ordered. everyone had seafood and evertything was fresh. the scallops were everyones fav. service was good definitely laid back place. we will def be back next year

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joelton, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have been coming to the OBX for 22 years now and this is our first time to eat at Fat Crabs. My husband ordered ribs and said they were fair - not much fat but they were dry like they'd been siting out for a while.
I ordered fried clams and seafood gumbo. The clams were good but there weren't many. Any other place I've gotten fried clams there were as many clams as they were french fries in the basket. The gumbo was very spicey (and I like spicey) - so much so I was getting red. AND, the seafood? Below minimal - I counted four TINY pieces of seafood. I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good experience- will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Scallops and sweet potato fries were good as other reviewers have said. Kids meals were reasonably priced. Great value overall. We had really fast and friendly service (we came after the dinner rush).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Food was okay. Ribs were tender but not smoked. Service was confusing. They take your order but you get your own drink. They never follow up to see if everything is okay or if you need anything. Not worth the time and money

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Crabs Rib Co. also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to Fat Crabs Rib Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Crabs Rib Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.