We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Dining Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack

Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack
807 D Ocean Trail, Monteray Plaza, Corolla, NC 27927
+1 252-453-4423
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 69 Restaurants in Corolla
Cuisines: Barbecue, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: WE ARE A FAMILY RUN BUSINESS THAT HAS BEEN HERE ON THE OUTER BANKS FOR THIRTEEN YEARS AND STILL GOING STRONG. WE DO BBQ,RIBS,FRIED CHICKEN AND ALL YOUR FAVORITE COUNTRY FIXINGS.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant Dining Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

A group of 5 of us ended up here by default on 5/5 due to Philly Cheesesteaks not having dinner hours. We were pleasantly surprised!! One in our group had the crab cake sandwich and enjoyed it. One had a grilled chicken sandwich, also enjoyable. I had the beef brisket sandwich....it was good but I have had better. Two had the fried flounder sandwiches and they could not say enough good things about them - flavorful and HUGE. Side were good....slaw was a bit flat for our tastes but the mac & cheese rocks!!! I believe our server's name was Jennifer. Let me tell you, that young lady was an absolute riot.....very pleasant and quick witted. We are laid back, low maintenance people but do tend to get a little out of hand at times. All I can say is that it is a good thing that we were there shortly before closing. We were having a great time and Jennifer could not have been better and was enjoying the laughs along with us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    33
    14
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Couldn't find you”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

My friend was getting married in the OBX and after fresh local seafood, NC BBQ was the next on the list of foods to enjoy. I read all the reviews and was excited for this place. We set out one day and drove all over Corolla. The map deceived us and we drove in circles and eventually gave up. Check your map location. It is not where you are. Too bad. We were looking forward to it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SooeysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
I am terribly sorry that you could not locate us here in Corolla. The address does lead you to the right location, but the address is for the whole complex. 807 ocean trail unit 105 Corolla, NC 27927 is the correct unit for Sooey's BBQ. We hope that you will come back and give us a try. Sorry for all the confusion, sometimes it is very hard to find places here in the OBX area. We are located facing the Food Lion side of the shopping center next to the beach wear shop. Thank you Kevin, H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dissappointing at best!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

5-5-2014. The lowest quality BBQ and food thus far. Canned veggies, JTM BBQ the pictures are all fraud. No smoker in site and the food was not even par. this is overpriced food probably bought at the Food Lion across the parking lot. Fried Chicken was dry, Brisket the photos in the tourist book were very miss leading. For those in the Midwest buy some JTM BBQ in a bowl ands microwave it. You will have a far better experience. In the words of Gordon Ramsey Shut it down and truly stop calling it Carolina BBQ that is truly a disrespect to the tradition.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SooeysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Hello and sorry that you had such a bad experience here at Sooey's BBQ Corolla. I would like to start off by saying the photos that are on trip advisor are not pictures that we have posted, they are form guest and i have been steadily trying to remove them from the site and adding our pictures. Second off our food comes in from the food sources just like any other restaurant anywhere you may eat out. The food does not come from cans and is prepped daily here at each store. We have been in business here on the Outer Banks for thirteen years now and have won many awards with our food. I would like to extend an offer to please come try us once again and can promise you that what you had was not a daily occurrence here at Sooey's. I hope to change your mind about us as we are loved by many and take that with pride. Please ask for Kevin when you come back and would like to see you come back soon. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Delicious with a Side of Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were surprised to see find any restaurants open on New Year's Day, but this little place was packed! They served up hot, fresh BBQ. The staff was kind and friendly. We would absolutely recommend this place to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Really good bbq & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were the only couple in the place on a early Wed afternoon. Our friendly waiter was Kyle and he gave us great service. We tried the pork bbq with a side of macaroni and cheese. Kyle suggested we try the mac & cheese and told us that if we didn't like it he would bring us something else. There was no need. It was homemade and creamy and cheesy. Definitely exceeded our expectations. We liked how the pork was sliced and not minced. Kyle suggested we combine the sweet bbq sauce with the vinegar that had pepper flakes in it. It was the perfect combination. We had a filling lunch for under $20. We'd definitely go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sooey's BBQ & Rib Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.