We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between-season pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Banks Restaurant & Raw Bar

North Banks Restaurant & Raw Bar
794-G Sunset Blvd., Tim Buck II Shopping Village, Corolla, NC 27927
(252) 453-3344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 69 Restaurants in Corolla
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Chowder, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We have been a local's favorite seafood establishment for over 14 years. Daily Lunch and Dinner Specials feature fresh local fish and creative sauces. Our Raw Bar features Steamed Shrimp, Maine Lobster, Littleneck Clams, Seaside and Select Oysters, Maine Mussels and Snow Crablegs. Sit at our Full Service bar, hang with the locals, enjoy your favorite libation and watch Major League Baseball, NFL Footbal and Surf videos.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Between-season pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived in the seasonal lull after spring break and before the late-spring onslaught to find almost no restaurants in the Corolla-Duck corridor open, esp. on a Monday, which isn't a great restaurant evening to begin with. We were lucky to find North Banks open not far from our hotel, and even luckier to find the food fresh, well-prepared, and reasonably priced; the service was equally good. We later discovered that compared to other places both more expensive and more popular, this one offered the best experience. Thanks!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    93
    30
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Small & Busy - But Worth the Wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The dining area of North Banks is very small, and they were very busy on the night we visited. But I must say, the food was worth the wait! The She-crab soup was outstanding and absolutely loaded with fresh crab meat. Several members of our party had the flounder special, and all gave it two thumbs up. I had the Atlantic rockfish which was very good, but a little spicier than I would have preferred. The fried shrimp and scallops received rave reviews, and I tried some of my hubby's - they tasted fresh and delicious. Our server was fantastic as well! We all agreed that this will be a must on any future visits to the Outer Banks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Decent seafood meal conveniently located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had lunch there today, dozen blueprint oysters were very good, 25$. Husbands flounder sandwich was kinda bland, French fries were average and bland. Family members crab cake sandwich looked amazing and he said was good. Variety of draft beers that some of our family enjoyed. Service was good. Just would try something else next time. Good location in Timbuktu shopping center

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The wait was worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had flounder and it was supposed to have lump crab. I told our waiter i was allergic, and he not only made sure they didnt even touch, but he knocked off the charge for thr crab! Hubby got the stuffed pork chop, i dislike porkchops but wow it was soo good! Will be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We loved the personal touch of the waitress and the fried flounder lunch was amazing!! Light and crispy and good fries and cole slaw.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Banks Restaurant & Raw Bar also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to North Banks Restaurant & Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Banks Restaurant & Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.