We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation for our big family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corolla Light Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corolla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corolla Light Resort
Save
You added Corolla Light Resort to your Saves list
Corolla, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Livingston, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful vacation for our big family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We rented a 5 bedroom house in Corolla Light Resort for a week at the end of July. Our 3 families fit nicely in the large, well-appointed home. Having 4 full baths and a half bath was definitely a plus! The resort is very well maintained and safe, and having the trolley to take us to the pools, beach, and other areas was convenient. Our house had its own pool which was great at night when the kids still wanted to swim but i was too late to go back to the main pool by the beach. Within a short walk though was the soundside pool which had 2 smaller pools, but was a nice alternative when we did not feel like taking the trolley. Far less crowded than the main pool area. We were also very near the tennis courts and were able to play everyday. The kids enjoyed some of the resort activities, but had the most fun crabbing on one morning. Corolla is a great location - easy drive to shops, supermarket, restaurants, lighthouse. The only rough part was driving in on Saturday afternoon - a lot of traffic. Otherwise, a fabulous vacation for us! Village Realty was very efficient and handled everything smoothly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    2
    2
    8
See reviews for
37
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at a private rental condo on the Corolla Light Resort property. The resort was nice and offered lots to do such as tennis, nature trails, rec center (indoor pool and racket ball courts--great for rainy days), beach front area, and a couple of pools. Depending on where you are located you may be kind of far from some of the activities, but we were lucky enough to be within walking distance to everything except the ocean front pool. The ocean front pool and beach area near the pool can be kind of crowded, but they are still nice. There are lots of activities going on all of the time and a trolley that can take you to different areas of the resort. It is close to the lighthouse, a gorgeous park and some little shops and restaurants. About 2 miles from grocery stores, movie theater, mini golf, shopping area, etc. Great location! The only real problem we had was getting there initially because of seasonal traffic, but that is obviously not the resorts fault! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming to OBX for the last 18 years. We started in Avon and moved north. This is our 6th rental in Corolla Light Resort. We have used Brindley Realty 4 of 6 times and have been satisfied. Also used Corolla Classic and Twiddy and have been slightly less satisfied but we make our choice depending on the availability of the house. This is an AWESOME resort for families. As our kids have become teens they still love it. It's a gated community and you really don't have to leave. Pack as much food as you can if you want to avoid trips to Food Lion and Harris Teeters. We will go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Come every year. Our house was wonderful. It included an elevator for lugging your luggage up and down. It was very clean. While it needed a few repairs, there was nothing that detracted from our experience there. The beach was fabulous, with a lifeguard right behind us. The pool area was a delightful retreat from the sand. The mid-week festivities like corn-hole, big-daddy splash, tie-dye t-shirts, and sand sculpture contests were fun. The fitness center is a reasonably appointed--even has indoor tennis courts. The trolley gets you everywhere you want to go there, so if the teenagers want to head back early or arrive late, they can. Tim-buck-II is 3 miles down the road along with a Food Lion grocery store that is open 24 hours. The beach north of the resort is open for 4-wheel drive vehicles and is a blast. It's a great location and a great vacation.

Room Tip: With easy access to the trolleys, there's no bad house in this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Oceanfront pool, restaurant, and easily accessible beaches!! :). What more could u ask for?? My family had been vacationing in corolla light for over 10 years and has been our perfect getaway! We love the big beautiful beaches as well as having access to a pool just a few yards from the beach! Also some of our fav restaurants are located in corolla! Absolutely have to try the crab cakes at the oceanfront grill! They are the best I have ever had :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have rented from Brindley for many years. We even switched rental companies to try different homes but returned to Brindley once experiencing the other rental companies. We started with Brindley when they started as B&B in the '90's...always have been awesome! We love Corolla!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We recently stayed at Corolla Light Resort in Corolla NC. They have homes or villas to rent.
It is a very nice ocean front and sound side community. Shuttle buses are available within Corolla Light frequently. The resort has two pools & plus a baby pool, sand volleyball, shuffle board courts, and basketball courts, and they have a restaurant. You can rent comfortable beach chairs and umbrellas during your stay. (from a vendor right on the beach.) We enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: There are villas and homes to choose from, not rooms. Local realty companies handle various properti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corolla Light Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corolla Light Resort

Address: Corolla, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Corolla
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Corolla Light Hotel Corolla
Corolla Light Resort NC - Outer Banks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corolla Light Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.