We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Outer Banks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Audubon Drive, Corolla, NC 27927   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
fairfax, virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Place in Outer Banks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

From the moment we walked in we were impressed with the Hapton Inn at Corolla. Our room (suite oceanfront) had an amazing view. The rooms were immaculate. Another mom guest and I were discussing it was the first hotel we felt comfortable walking around barefoot in. Rooms smelled clean not of cleaning products. My daughters have severe allergies and hotel air conditioners always trigger them - not the case here no mustiness. Genuine, responsive and friendly staff. Say hello to Cisco the cool hotel cat walking around outside. Well planned out pools - not fancy but clean and broken up so not crowded. Great bit of beach not on top of anyone. Good small kitchenette (microwave and fridge with lots of storage a plus with young kids). Not much drawer space only drawback. This place was basically perfect. Good breakfast buffet and 24/7 coffee. I am the pickiest person I know and I would recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    192
    53
    18
    3
See reviews for
281
249
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Stayed 7/5-7/12/2009 on 3rd floor partial ocean view and overlooking pool. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and very helpful. The location was great and the beach was very nice here. Complimentary breakfast was good and plenty of seating. I've been visiting the Outerbanks for 39 years and I've never stayed at the OBX for a week with my family in a hotel before. I wasn't sure how it was going to workout, but it was great. The microfridge accomodated our lunch food and drinks. Also, if you are new to the OBX there is a paved path that runs in front of the hotel and it travels north and as far south as you can go. Great for walkers, bikers and runners.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, va
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We visited this hotel during 4th of July weekend and got what must have been the worst room in the entire hotel-- faced the diner across the way, ground floor. Our room was musty, small and falling apart (e.g., the handle on door came off when we tried to open it to the patio). The jacuzzi tub looked too gross to even get into. All of this for $340 a night! The last night there we asked to be moved since everyone cleared out of the hotel and got an ocean view room on the third floor which was DELIGHTFUL. Had we known the difference would have been this great in quality, we wouldn't have thought twice about paying extra when we booked the room. Breakfast is very basic but OK; pools are small but nice; beach access/experience is wonderful. The prices are probably b/c of the beach access-- the hotel itself isn't that luxurious at all, but also not terrible. That ground floor room however was atrocious. They should charge no more than $150 a night for it, max.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, WV
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

The Hampton Inn Outer Banks was great! The grounds, rooms, staff and pools were very nice. Although the rates are a bit high, we didnt mind because the hotel met our expectations and we got what we paid for! We have two small children and it is a great place for families. We will definately go back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Every, and I do mean every, staff person is smiling and helpful. The facility is lovely. The only downside is there is no bar.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

I've stayed at Hampton Inns before and liked it. At the Corolla Hampton Inn, I loved it! I don't think I can add much more in the way of reviews for this place, since everyone else seems to have that covered but I'd like to add my own positive thoughts. My wife and I were there for a weekend getaway.

The hotel is clean. They do a great job of keeping the grounds picked-up. The room was not sandy and the bathroom was spotless. They provided the following in our room: Iron & ironing board, microwave & refrigerator, coffee maker & coffee, ice bucket & cups, programmable room safe (almost big enough to hold my 17" laptop) and the usual hair dryer, hand lotion, shampoo & conditioner. Having a microwave in the room was nice for leftovers. And the fridge enabled us to have milk in the room for our coffee (which was of decent quality).

The view was terrific. Open the curtains and you're looking at the dunes & ocean. There's some thick brush before the dunes that had us birding from our balcony at times.

The hotel was quiet. Thick walls. Plus, the hotel itself is several hundred yards from Rt. 12, so you don't hear cars either - just ocean, when you open the sliding glass door! The balcony was of adequate size for a couple to sit & sip and had a small table. The bed did not squeak and provided excellent comfort.

The bathroom, as I mentioned, was spotless. It had a heat lamp in the ceiling (I have to get one of these for my house) controlled by a manual timer. The shower was a good size (I'm 6' & 200lbs.) and hot water came on quickly. The toilet was clean and flushed powerfully.

The Hampton Inn provides a hot breakfast each morning at no additional cost. Just go downstairs and load up your plate. The food was Shoney's quality, if you've ever eaten at one of those, so not bad, and in the morning when you're hungry it was most welcome. Plenty of juice, coffee & milk, tea, cereal and danishes are always out, if you don't want to partake of the hot breakfast. The staff made sure keep up with the demand. Eat all you want, fill up & head out to the beach - very cool.

There was plenty of parking and the lot was well-lit. About the grounds in general, besides being clean, it seems they did a nice job of not landscaping the heck out of the area and kept lots of the natural flora - we really liked that. The hotel black cat "mascot" was a nice touch and he readily accepted our snitches when offered. I hope they keep him around - he's friendly, clean & gentle and helped us not miss our cats back home as much.

In season, this hotel is not cheap - you pay a premium price for the location, beach view & amenities - but we had no complaints. Should we need a hotel again in Duck or Corolla, we'll certainly stay at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We had a fantastic weekend stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites. The room was exactly as it was described, all hotel staff was extremely friendly in such a helpful manner. We stayed in early May so we beat the summer crowds and had a super time. We'll be back every year!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla

Address: 333 Audubon Drive, Corolla, NC 27927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal Outer Banks hotel right on the beach in Corolla, NC. We offer oceanfront rooms and suites that look out onto the pristine sandy dunes of the Outer Banks. Explore the remote beauty of the outer banks of North Carolina. See wild horses, the famous light houses of the outer banks, take a kayak tour, or choose to sit by the pool or lounge in our lazy river. Enjoy our free daily breakfast and wifi. Relaxation awaits you at our outer banks Corolla NC hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Outerbanks Corolla Hotel Corolla
Hampton Inn Outerbanks Carolla
Hampton Inn Corolla
Corolla Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla NC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.