We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Audubon Drive, Corolla, NC 27927   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Corolla
Owensboro, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel stay. Beach was good, pools were clean & fun. The breakfast was hot & people friendly. Service from everyone was very good. Lots of tables & chairs outside for a picnic lunch. Only stayed 2 nights but really enjoyed everything!!

Room Tip: Only hotel we saw on this island. We could walk out our back door to beach & pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    184
    50
    18
    3
See reviews for
264
214
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We were able to get a junior suite for $179 on the week of Forth of July, which is VERY hard to find! The location is quiet and nicely secluded on the beach. The beach in 100 feet away from the two outdoor pools, with beach needs available for rental.

The only negative was that there is only one overpriced restuarant nextdoor, and it's a 5+ mile drive for anything other than that. Otherwise a great location and well kept hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We chose to stay at the Hampton Inn Monday - Friday to avoid the crazy weekend traffic getting into and out of OBX on the weekends. There weren't many options so we picked this place based on amenities and location. We weren't disappointed, everyone had a great time and the beach was not crowded at all. Even with so many families staying at the hotel, it was never noisy and the pool was never crowded either. We stayed in a King suite with no view and pull out couch for our family of 4. It was perfect. We used the mini kitchen to make sandwiches, the fridge fit our deli meat, cheese, condiments, beverages and we had popsicle and ice packs in the freezer. The only downside is that it's not near any restaurants, you have to drive 5-10 minutes, but it's a small price to pay for the privacy of the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great location....way up at the northern tip of the outer banks. Came back after about 3 years and was astounded at the growth that has taken place! Close to the area of wild horses. This hotel has a couple if pools and a beautiful location on the beach. Nice breakfast and courteous staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Upon check-in, Lauren was kind enough to call us when our room was ready. This was such a nice touch. Additionally, we had originally booked a king w/ sofa bed room. At check in, Justin offered a fantastic upgrade for a very reasonable price and it turned out to be one of the best hotel vacation stays in all of my vacation years (I'm 42)!! The staff were friendly, the property was clean and overall the experience was absolutely amazing and perfect in every way!! It was our first time staying at the Corolla location and we will definitely be back! Thanks for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family and I came to this hotel for our first trip to the Outer Banks. We didn't want to rent a house and do the work attached to that ie. laundry, cooking, etc. When we called the hotel to make a reservation we asked Justin a million questions and he never lost his patience. However, it was the opposite. He was so helpful and accommodating and even starting making recommendations to us about how to plan our trip before we even arrived at the hotel. After travelling 13 hours to get there (I don't recommend travelling on a Saturday) we actually looked forward to meeting Justin because we already had a business relationship from the numerous calls we made to him! We were all exhausted and cranky. But, when Justin came up to our room with cookies that he saved from the early evening, it put a smile on all of our faces. Justin also answered all our questions and made great restaurant recommendations throughout the stay. He really made us feel special! We didn't even realize that there is so much to do in Outer Banks if you don't just want to sit on the beach or by the pool ie. Sand Dunes, Wright Bros Museum, boardwalk in Duck, concerts at night, wine festival, lighthouse in Corolla Light, Nature Center in Corolla Light, Yoga on the greens in Duck, etc. The Calendar Of Events in one of the newspapers in hotels provides daily events. The breakfasts in this hotel are great and many healthy choices. You are allowed to use the lobby tables for eating lunch that you can make from items bought in local supermarkets and farmstands. This is probably one of the few spots on the beach where there is a lifeguard provided by the hotel. There were also plenty of chairs at the pool When it was raining on the last day of our vacation, we decided to leave early. The hotel staff let us check out without prior notice which we really appreciated. Also, Amelia was helpful in restaurant recommendations and a very pleasant person.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hotel very dirty. Had to change rooms because of smell. Carpets need to be cleaned both in rooms and hallways. Worst Hampton we have stayed in. Hotel has great location, but that alone isn't enough. Staff or management company needs to work much harder to bring this property back to a condition where we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler D, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I apologize that your rooms cleanliness was not up to the standards you were expecting. Our housekeeping department works hard day in and day out to ensure that our rooms will in fact meet each guests expectations. They always appreciate guest feedback so they may no where to better focus their efforts. I hope that this previous stay will not deter you from returning to our property in the future to allow us to regain you as a loyal customer.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Tyler Davis
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla

Address: 333 Audubon Drive, Corolla, NC 27927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Corolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal Outer Banks hotel right on the beach in Corolla, NC. We offer oceanfront rooms and suites that look out onto the pristine sandy dunes of the Outer Banks. Explore the remote beauty of the outer banks of North Carolina. See wild horses, the famous light houses of the outer banks, take a kayak tour, or choose to sit by the pool or lounge in our lazy river. Enjoy our free daily breakfast and wifi. Relaxation awaits you at our outer banks Corolla NC hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Outerbanks Corolla Hotel Corolla
Hampton Inn Outerbanks Carolla
Hampton Inn Corolla
Corolla Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla NC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.