We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hampton - no resort. Corolla = ColdRolla = very cold water.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Audubon Drive, Corolla, NC 27927   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Corolla
Greensboro
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average Hampton - no resort. Corolla = ColdRolla = very cold water.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Generally OK facility - but just that and with several disappointments. Similar to other Hampton Inns which I use regularly for business travel. Standard Hampton fare. Sort of understaffed for an oceanfront facility. Smallish balcony doors in room. Room was "Hampton clean" however which you can always trust and is a good thing for sure. When calling there I was told that our room would be available early so get there "any" time. That didn't materialize and when I complained the desk clerk was pretty rude. The pool area is spartan. One large brown dying evergreen near the building right by the pool.The hotel is only 3 stories. 2nd floor allows you to barely see over the dunes to the ocean. 1st floor ocean side I imagine has no ocean view. We had partial ocean view room, 2nd floor, which was disappointing and price kept going up as I was investigating arrangements. The worst part was that the ocean was very cold and basically un-swimmable unless you could stand going numb. People would go in to their knees and just stand there. Apparently the shifting ocean currents cause the 60 degree water. So stay further south if you want to swim in the ocean. This was somewhat disappointing. The horses and the quaint area are the attraction. Duck is very quaint. Corolla is a bit touristy, not as classy. The Currituck lighthouse and Whalehead historic area is pretty neat. The Paper Canoe restaurant in Duck was excellent. If you are going to go see the horses look up the Corolla Wild Horse Fund website and the tour that is offered. They oversee the horses and provide care unlike the other for ones in it only for profit. So basically a very nice area but not for a swim at the beach.

Room Tip: South side better than north due to adjacent roof top on north side. Try to get 3rd floor as it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler D, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Richard,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I apologize that you found parts of your stay lacking. Unfortunately, early check-ins are something that we can never guarantee but always do our best to honor. We offer all of our guests use of our pools and beach access at any time on their day of arrival and departure if their room is unavaillable to them before check in time or after check out time. You are correct, our hotel is only three stories and all of our ocean view rooms are either on the second or the third floor. We do have high dune lines in our area that protect us from storms, so they are a blessing for us but do block a small portion of the view. I remember well the week you are reffering to during which the ocean was very cold. It being that cold is abnormal for our area during this time of year but the shifting tides and winds can shift the ocean temperature but a quite a few degrees. Thank you again for your review, it always helpful to gain a better understanding for what guests both like and dislike about our property. These reviews help us to make changes for the better to ensure we meet each guests satisfaction.

Thank you,

Tyler Davis
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    167
    43
    17
    3
See reviews for
234
203
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in May and really enjoyed the ocean view and access to the beach. So easy. We would go back and forth between the beach and pool throughout the day, which was wonderful as the ocean was still too cold. The beach was not crowded at all so we didn't have to deal with the smell of people smoking or people sitting directly in front of your view of the ocean. With regard to the room, I have a hard time with beds on vacation, but my husband found the beds comfortable for him. The rooms were clean and spacious. We had an ocean view on the third floor that we really enjoyed. Make sure you don't get a corner room because you will feel like you are right on top of the perpendicular room if you sit on the balcony. We were in a room toward the middle.The man who checked us in was a rather irritable when we were asking him for a room toward the middle, but don't let that stop you. All the other front desk personnel were excellent and very friendly, as were all the service people we came in contact with. One thing I would suggest is that they keep the balconies clean - they were full of cobwebs and bugs stuck in the cobwebs. Ugh. The breakfast was just okay, but - hey - it's free. My husband enjoyed the fruit; however, the waffles did not have a good taste/texture so we gave up on them. Hubby also enjoyed the cookies at the front desk each day. The lifeguards at the beach were really nice and friendly. Also, if you go out on the beach after dark with a flashlight you will see loads of crabs all over the place - the kiddies will love it. The hotel has also adopted a pretty little black cat that stays outside by the pool - such a sweetie. I would also like to recommend that you go to Urban Kitchen for dinner at least one night while you are here. We were lucky to find this gem of a restaurant as many of the other restaurants in the area have over priced average food. Urban Kitchen was pretty much in line with other pricing in the area ($14-$25 for entree) but the quality far surpassed any of the other restaurants we are familiar with. You will not be disappointed. Check the out on Trip Advisor. I would definitely recommend this hotel because it couldn't be more convenient to the beach, and we had such a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the middle of the 3rd floor facing the beach. I also recommend Urban Kitchen in Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed from 6/30-7/7/2013. Check-in was easy and the manager was very welcoming - explaining the property in detail! Staff is very pleasant and location is perfect. We enjoyed the easy access to the beach and the indoor/outdoor pools. The beach was not crowded and very kid friendly! The lazy river is quite small, but good for kids. Breakfast is great - plenty of choices. Fresh cookies are available at 6pm by the front desk, which my 9yr old waited for each day :) We love the Hampton Inn chain and overall our experience was good at this hotel.

The main areas are nice - updated and clean. The rooms could use updating. The hotel is on the ocean and the humidity, salt and sand does have an affect on things - rusting, etc. Our deck was covered in webs, spider nests and dead bugs when we arrived and throughout the week. These things build up quickly on the ocean, but knocking them down with a broom at least once a week could help. The same webs were on the inside of our room - in the corner close to the sliding doors and under the curtain valances...would have been nice not to see those in the room. We also pulled back the curtains to let some light in and there was quite a collection of dead bugs on the window sill n the window was quite dirty. Maid service was good - our room was cleaned quite well each day...just some of the aforementioned items that were overlooked.

Only real issue we had was the night of our arrival - we discovered 2 different clumps of hair on our duvet cover...not just several strands, but clumps - enough that my husband was the one to notice them. He went down and spoke with a gentleman at the front desk. His initial response was - were you here last night?? That wasn't a great response - I guess it would have been OK if we were here the night before, because it could have been our own hair. My husband explained that we just checked in. They did send cleaning service up to the room and had the bed stripped and made up again.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor Ocean View is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler D, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear CAD2110,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. It is always great to hear feedback from our guests. I am so glad you had a warm welcome upon arrival at the hotel and that our staff was able to assist you throughout the stay. You're right, the location of our hotel is perfect for people who are looking for a comfortable place to relax. I apologize for the housekeeping incidents you encountered during your stay. Our housekeeping team will be glad to have the feedback about both the cobwebs and hair on the duvet so that they may work towards improving their daily housekeeping plans to ensure similar incidents do not continue to occur. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Thank you,

Tyler Davis
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Well not exactly private, but since the hotel is a quarter mile from the nearest residence and there are no other hotels in sight, it feels like a private beach. I was not expecting this quality of location at a Hampton Inn. I would have expected a more resort level hotel to have this type beautiful location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Amazing hotel resort. Has a a special feline resident. On weekends and holidays, traffic is insane to get here, so arrive and leave much earlier or later than check out and check in times! Book an extra night, or two, because you won't want to go back home!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a great weekend here. The location is great with an awesome pool and a superb beach just outside. I think the breakfast foods could be better for all the Hampton locations we've stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Well situated hotel, close to both Duck and Corolla, off the beaten path but close enough to get to amenities. Clean room, friendly staff, a front desk that plays by the rules but who also offer a few freebies- such as check out as we need the room but enjoy the pool for a few shouts until you leave! Great breakfast, lots of carbs but also fresh fruit, yogurt and eggs daily. Ocean front hotel with a great AAA rate.... A true value...

Room Tip: Ocean view is nice but no need, you are oceanfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla

Address: 333 Audubon Drive, Corolla, NC 27927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Corolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal Outer Banks hotel right on the beach in Corolla, NC. We offer oceanfront rooms and suites that look out onto the pristine sandy dunes of the Outer Banks. Explore the remote beauty of the outer banks of North Carolina. See wild horses, the famous light houses of the outer banks, take a kayak tour, or choose to sit by the pool or lounge in our lazy river. Enjoy our free daily breakfast and wifi. Relaxation awaits you at our outer banks Corolla NC hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Outerbanks Corolla Hotel Corolla
Hampton Inn Outerbanks Carolla
Hampton Inn Corolla
Corolla Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla NC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.