We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off-season - Loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Audubon Drive, Corolla, NC 27927   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Off-season - Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Crowds are gone and we practically have the place to ourselves. Love the indoor pool and hot tub, short walk to the beach, staff is great, and while many local restaurants have closed, there are still some open to choose from.

Shells picking at its finest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    190
    53
    18
    3
See reviews for
274
235
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We really had a nice stay at the Hampton with a full ocean view and during low season so had the place to ourselves. Very nice rooms and breakfast selections. Plus we were able to walk right out to the beach and had lovely long walks on the beach there. Really an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Definately do the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Decided on short notice to stay a Friday and Saturday night at the Hampton Inn. Our first time there and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Great rate as staying nov 30 is certainly off season. Quick efficient check in with Taylor who was excellent and ensured we had all the local information necessary and also upgraded us to an ocean view suite! She was great each time we saw her while checking on us to ensure all was well with room and hotel. Only small issue was that the pool area was closed off. I had thought that we might be able to at least sit on the chairs there but it all appeared locked off. We didn't ask or complain though as even though it was 60 degrees we found some chairs and a table outside the pool area to sit in after being on the beach. We stayed here as the Sanderling was closed for the season for repairs but would consider staying here in the future. Breakfast was pretty good as my wife thought the waffle was good. I normally dont eat hotel breakfasts except for some fruit, which was fine during our stay.

Room Tip: Top (3rd floor) for best ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
588 reviews 588 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
522 helpful votes 522 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had a great stay at Hampton Inn and Suites on the Outer Banks. The hotel has a Corolla address but is actually located between the towns of Duck and Corolla. The hotel has a touch of class from the shell collection in the lobby, to the building design, to the fresh cookies each evening in the lobby. The hotel staff is helpful and friendly, from the front desk clerks to the maintenance and cleaning staff. A wonderful complimentary breakfast is served each morning in a large, light and airy room.

Our king room was spacious with plenty of room for all of the furniture and no lack of room to move around. The sofa provided comfortable lounging for watching the LG TV. The large desk was great for eating in the room or surfing the internet on the laptop using the free wi-fi. The refrigerator and microwave provided the means to keep our own soft drinks and also save a few dollars by not having to buy lunch and dinner out every day. The room had a low bench that was very handy for the luggage, and the closet was functional with a safe – good for protecting valuables while on the beach. Most importantly, the bed and bath were clean and comfortable for our stay. This hotel is definitely better than the average Hampton Inn.

The best part of this hotel is its location on the beach – what a fabulous beach! We enjoyed sunrise walks on the beach – spectacular! The boardwalk from the hotel to the beach has a small deck area with benches – a good spot for morning coffee and sunrise. Our room had a balcony on the south side of the building with partial ocean view – nice, but we didn’t spend much time on the balcony – we preferred spending the time on the beach. We would love to return, and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Husband and I went for a get away weekend. it was exactly what we needed. The hotel staff is very friendly, breakfast was good, the grounds very clean, room excellent. Since this is not the busy season, everything was quite. Looking forward to taking another trip down.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn recently and I found it enjoyable, but lacking in a few key ways. The rooms (ours was ocean front) were relatively clean and comfortable but they seemed dated and, I don't know, shabby. Wallpaper peeling in places, what looked like mold in the shower, rust in the bathroom, screen door that didn't work and looked very dirty. Also, the vents in the bathroom need to be cleaned, because disgusting dust fell out of it and landed in my hair when I was trying to get ready. On the plus side, the breakfast was great, the beds were comfortable. I just think I'd have been pretty disappointed if I was paying $400 a night (which is how much they charge in the middle of the season) for this room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff T, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just stayed here Nov.9-11. Beautiful hotel. Staff, from front desk to housekeeping were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was great! Food was hot and plentiful. Saturday night cookies were put out at the front desk and coffee, tea, and hot chocolate was always available. Room was spacious and everything was very clean. Bed was so comfortable. Indoor pool and hot tub were well maintained. I would not hesitate to stay here again. If you are looking for a quiet location and a first class hotel, this is it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla

Address: 333 Audubon Drive, Corolla, NC 27927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Corolla
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal Outer Banks hotel right on the beach in Corolla, NC. We offer oceanfront rooms and suites that look out onto the pristine sandy dunes of the Outer Banks. Explore the remote beauty of the outer banks of North Carolina. See wild horses, the famous light houses of the outer banks, take a kayak tour, or choose to sit by the pool or lounge in our lazy river. Enjoy our free daily breakfast and wifi. Relaxation awaits you at our outer banks Corolla NC hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Outerbanks Corolla Hotel Corolla
Hampton Inn Outerbanks Carolla
Hampton Inn Corolla
Corolla Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla NC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.