We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this place ever open?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Giovanni's
520 G Old Stoney Rd, Corolla, NC 27927
252-453-4555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 54 Restaurants in Corolla
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
hanover
1 review
“Is this place ever open?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The website says 11:30-9 seven days a week, the schedule on the door says 5-9 Mon. though Fri. 11:30-9 Sat. but they are closed more than that. I guess some places just can't keep it together. I wonder what will be there next year.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon27927, Owner at Giovanni's, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are finding our way in the Corolla market. We are open Tuesday through Friday for dinner. Saturday we serve lunch starting at 11:30, dinner at 5pm. Sunday we serve dinner at 5. We will be there next year with an expanded menu and hours.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
forest hills, ny
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband and I are just back from a road trip starting from New York going to Durham, North Carolina. One of our destinations was Corolla in the Outer Banks. Spent two wonderful days there. Ate at Giovanni's restaurant, which was very close to our hotel. Didn't want to have to drive anymore that day. Restaurant was a little difficult to find at first. When we arrived a very large group was just seated. (later found no advance warning to restaurant they were arriving! why do people do that!!) Anyway, restaurant seemed short staffed that evening and drinks, bread, appetizers, dinner, seemed to take forever to get. Owner and waitress were extremely apologetic. Anyway, didn't feel much like eating after waiting so long , BUT when the dinners came, it was the most amazing chicken parmiagana I ever ate!!!! Jjust like from home. (nyc) . So it was well worth the wait!!! All was forgiven!!!!

By the way, we went back next evening to have a glass of wine at the bar with the owner, just to let her know how much we enjoyed the food. It was really nice talking to her. It made for a wonderful evening for me and my husband. Really felt welcomed.

Worth a visit!!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best lasagna ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

My wife and I tried this restaurant giovannis wendsday night and we had a great salad, fried mozzarella and lasagna . It was stacked tall and full of flavor . Thank u Giovanni for one of the best dining experience ever

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon27927, Owner at Giovanni's, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you. We think so too.

John & Donna Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corolla
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“still not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

This was our second visit to Giovanni's. (We are locals.) There was no improvement in the quality of the food. The pizza is still undercooked and the lasagna still tastes cardboardy.
We love it here in Corolla and are so disappointed that this restaurant serves inferior food. We want our local businnesses to be successful. If you are looking for excellent Italian try La Doce Vita in TimBuckII. If you want exceptionally good pizza try Cosmos in Corolla Light. I do not think we will return to Giovanni's

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Scrumptous and Authtentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

our recent jaunt to Corolla was capped off by a wonderful meal in this quaint little part of Italy hidden in a small shopping center. We started with Baked Brie` that was to die for served with fresh bread. the salad was portioned perfectly to accompany an appetizer and entree` or to be stand alone. My spouse had Eggplant Parmesan that was made from scratch, even the eggplant was breaded in house. The Carnivore Pizza that I had was on a cracker crust, and the sauce and meats were great. Akin to eating at someone's home in Italy, the staff and even the owner made sure we were happy and well taken care of. Pleasingly priced, great portions, fantastic tastes. Yes we will be back!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jon27927, Owner at Giovanni's, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Seems like you have an association with another restaurant in the area. Our guest like our lasagna very much. They have good taste.

Thank you,
John Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's also viewed

 
Corolla, Outer Banks
Corolla, Outer Banks
 

Been to Giovanni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.