We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, we went back again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back Country Safari Tours

Back Country Safari Tours
Corolla Light Town Center, 107 C, Corolla, NC 27927 (Formerly Back Country Outfitters & Guides)
252-453-0877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 Activities in Corolla
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Custom open-air Safari Beach Cruisers take you & your family on off-road explorations of the Outer Banks northern beaches.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So good, we went back again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We started with two hours of Jeep riding in the northern end of OBX. Our guide, Stephen, was passionate about sharing his knowledge and a fun, personable man. Not everyone can drive, narrate and demonstrate simultaneously! We laughed, learned local ecology, and spotted beautiful horses in natural and backyard settings. This was a highlight of our family reunion.

Two days later, we returned for a Segway tour of historical Corolla. We were happy to see Stephen as our guide again. He taught us how to drive the Segways in a safe indoor space before we were off onto our adventure. Once more, we laughed and learned - and leaned - as Stephen led us around town to see the sights.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    19
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wild Horse off road excursion and kayak tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Earlier this month, Beth and I had an awesome four hour excursion into the four wheeel drive area of the Outer Banks of North Carolina which is called Corova. It is an area only accessable with a four wheel drive vehicle. It is here where the Wild Spanish Horses roam free. They are decendents of the horses left behind by the early settlers to this part of North Carolina. Since we don't own a four wheel drive vehicle we searched for a company that provided this service. We found several companies that offer tours to this area on OBX, but heard that a company called Back Country Safari Tours was one of the best.

We booked our tour one day in advance as it was off season in early October after the large population of tourists had gone home. Our tour was fantastic shared with another couple
we met when we arrived and our tour guide named SCHWINN who made the trip memorable.
Beth and I highly recommend this tour if you want to see the horses, and kayaking was great as well. Schwinn is a piece of work. You'll enjoy your time if you're lucky enough to get him for your four hour ride into heaven.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Super Fun Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a fantastic time on this two hour tour. Our guide, Chris, was very knowledgeable and loaded with great information. We saw lots of horses and even some dolphins. A great value.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymart, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must to do and see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had a fun time. Chris was a great tour guide and kept everyone entertained. We saw lots of horses and even a deer. Would love to come back and do a tour in warmer weather maybe even try a kayaking tour.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Chris was a great tour guide with lots of interesting facts and stories to share. Lots of fun and wonderful to see the wild horses and the North Shore community. Well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Country Safari Tours also viewed

 

Been to Back Country Safari Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Country Safari Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.