We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront and Casual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rusty Rudder

Rusty Rudder
20210 Henderson Rd, Cornelius, NC 28031-5808
704-892-9195
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 83 Restaurants in Cornelius
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Waterfront and Casual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Rusty Rudder is one of our favorite restaurants in the greater Charlotte area. It's just a short trip up 77 north and well worth it when looking for casual waterfront dining. It is a very popular spot on weekends and parking lot is often very full. You may have to park up by Catawba Avenue and walk down to the restaurant, but still worth it. There is a dock where you can park your boat and dine as well.

There is both inside and outside seating and they have recently expanded their deck seating. The upper deck has a roof and the lower decks have tables with umbrellas. On really hot days they have misters. There is also a Tiki Bar off to the side of the upper deck. There is a great view of the marina and lake from both the outside decks and from some of the tables in the inside restaurant.

They always offer drink and food specials. On this trip my husband got the "Fish & Chips" special which was a huge piece of beer battered Haddock and fries. I got the Fried Clam Strip basket and my new favorite side .. Sweet Potato Puffs. They are delicious!!

The service is always friendly, quick and efficient. Highly recommend for a relaxing meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    15
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great view and good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went with a group of ten. It wasn't too busy at noon on a Monday. Our service was great. Beer could have been little colder. It was very nice sitting outside. Good kids menu. The fish tacos were excellent!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent mojitos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great location, fabulous view and atmosphere. Great food and the best mojitos. A definite must do if you are in the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlanger, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent view with average food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I really wanted to give this place a higher rating but in the end just couldn't. Even though the food was average the view and the service was excellent so I split the difference on the review. If you look at this place as somewhere to go out with friends to socialize and have a couple of drinks and maybe grab a bite when you get hungry you'll have no problem with this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I love this place but please fix the food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to hang out with a nice lakeview. However, recently the food quality is going down the cliff. There aren't many places like this (a waterside laid back setting) so I hate to see this place is not paying attention to quality anymore.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty Rudder also viewed

 

Been to Rusty Rudder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rusty Rudder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.