We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for race weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge & Suites Lake Norman

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge & Suites Lake Norman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge & Suites Lake Norman
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20740 Torrence Chapel Rd., Cornelius, NC 28031   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Cornelius
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place for race weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

After booking the hotel, I read the reviews on this website and was fearful that I made a bad decision. So, we brought Lysol and new sheets just in case it really was as bad as the reviews stated. Not the case! We had a great stay. The staff was so friendly and even gave us a back route to the race to avoid the traffic. The front desk staff was very pleasant, the room was cleaner than I expected, the landscaping was beautiful, everything worked properly in the room, no pet smells, no stains on the carpet, the sheets were fine, no bugs, and was not noisy. I really reccommend this hotel for race weekend. It is so hard to find a great hotel at the last minute in Charlotte for the NASCAR race. I must say this hotel was great.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    8
    13
See reviews for
11
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

After reading previous traveler's reviews I was anxious about the condition of the Econo Lodge, in particular the cleanliness of the rooms. I found these concerns to be unfounded. The rooms (I booked 3 non-smoking) were clean, well decorated, provisioned with cable TVs, wireless internet, coffee makers, hairdryers, ironing boards, microwaves and mini fridges. While not large, the rooms were more than adequate. The breakfast was a continental breakfast in a pleasant space. The staff was friendly. All 7 in our party enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — good value
  • Disliked — rooms on highway side are noisy
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The pictures tell the story. Pink stuff growing all over the shower curtain, most likely staphylococcus (I am in the scientific field). The sheets kept popping off the bed all night, every time you would move. Every surface frequently touched, like the remote, door knobs, doors, fridge door, had a coating of sticky or gross stuff on it. The phone had no cover on it, so you could not tell what buttons did what, hence could not call the front desk. The bathroom ceiling had a bad patch job from what appeared to be water damage. Mold was growing behind the toilet. Spiders and webs were in the bathroom. There was white powder on the carpet which was probably carpet freshener, but since the carpet was wet, it could not be vacuumed up. I did not eat at the restaurant (after seeing the room, we did not think it was a good idea). The outside does not look bad--it looks like they spend all their money on landscaping and on flower boxes on the railings outside each room, but this is deceiving as the rooms are in horrible condition. Paint is peeling off the doors on the outside. I feel bad for the maids who have to clean these rooms. The staff seems oblivious to the condition of the rooms, or just don't care. They were friendly, but not too accommodating.

  • Liked — The price, free internet (although very weak signal that kept cutting out)
  • Disliked — Everything you can think of.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2007

This was the worst hotel ever, we checked in and checked out, in less then an hour.
The sheets had never been changed, there was some white suff all over the couch.
The lady enhind the counter would not get off the phone while we were checking in.
This place was a dump.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centerburg, ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

I have stayed at this motel approximately 5 times and found the staff hospitable and they welcome pets. However my last stay was less than acceptable. I stayed over the Christmas holidays and it was terrible. It appears the motel was either new or renovated in the last few years and they have just let it go now. first of all they would not accept a coupon I wanted to use as they said it was for a queen room only, but it did not say that on it. No matter how much I argued they would not relent (and they could see on the computer that I was a repeat customer). So I had to pay $59 plus $15 for the dog. Now this is not a $60 room, at the most it is a $45 room.

The carpet is dirty, cigarette burns on the bathtub and smells of cigarettes, but I request a non-smoking room. Smoke detector hanging off the wall, peeling paint in the shower, toilet paper holder falling out of the wall, dirty furniture, etc. The hotel furniture is very old, sheets are small and don't fit well, mattress pad is not fitted, had to clean the sink area when I got there. The worst is the carpet and it is a pet room so who knows what is in the carpet. Pet rooms should be tiled.

I will not stay again. I think the owners are just riding it into the ground and still charging an amount as it it were still in good condition. If you can get them to accept a coupon for $43 it is OK but do not pay $59 for this room. Apparently they don't care about repeat customers or care enough to keep the place in good condition.

  • Liked — accept pets
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2005

I stayed 3 nights at $59 per night. This place is pretty bad. The rooms are not up to date. The bedding and carpet are old. The bathroom was not clean. I saw several rooms, and some had been slightly updated, but were still sub par. The "breakfast" is bagels, toast, cereal. It is next to the Interstate 77, so the rooms on the West side get a lot of traffic noise. If you want to stay in something nice, check into renting a condo on the lake.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge & Suites Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge & Suites Lake Norman

Address: 20740 Torrence Chapel Rd., Cornelius, NC 28031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cornelius
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Cornelius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge & Suites Lake Norman 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge & Suites Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornelius Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Cornelius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge & Suites Lake Norman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.