We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Stay In Lake Norman” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19501 Statesville Road, Cornelius, NC 28031   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 15%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cornelius
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Florida, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A Good Stay In Lake Norman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

As Lake Norman is devoid of any upscale hotels, we usually stay at the Comfort Inn. However, I decided this time to try the Hampton Inn for the location and to earn the points. The hotel was a little dead over the Labor Day weekend. We only stayed one night. The room was very clean and the beds were comfy. We had a nice view of the grassy area across from the front of the hotel. The hotel is in a very good location. We went out for dinner and also to Birkdale Village and had no trouble getting back. You don't have to drive on 77 if you don't want to. We went to back way a couple of times.

Breakfast provided a lot of choices from the numbered items to case that you heat in the microwave. The staff were also very helpful. The one snafu was the internet in the lobby. You needed a code but it didn't work and then the printer didn't work. We were trying to print our boarding passes for our flight home. We finally gave up.

However, the Internet did not seriously impact our thoughts on the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    70
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
104
64
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

I stayed here with family after flying into Charlotte on my way home from a vacation. I wanted to get out of the busiest part of town and get some sleep. This is a great hotel. It was quiet and very clean and the bed was really comfortable. Our room had two double beds. I didn't use the internet connection or tv because we got up and left right away after getting some sleep but everything looked just fine.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They had the best breakfast I have ever had at any hotel. The young lady who attended the breakfast was so friendly and actually brought us refills on coffee and juice and checked on us while we ate, taking our plates when we finished.

We were close to the interstate so we had an easy checkout and were back on the road in no time. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We pulled off the highway and stayed here for the night on our way back to Ohio. I was skeptical how nice it would be on the inside since the outside seemed dated. We were pleasantly surprised. Even my two year old said, "Mmm, nice," upon seeing the interior. Our room had nice bed linens and pillows and seemed very clean. We liked the free snacks available in the lobby (cookies, tea, popcorn) and the wide selection of food for breakfast in the morning. Once again we were pleased that we stayed at a Hampton Inn and will continue to seek them out when traveling for their consistent level of quality and fair price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

This hotel is a great buy for the price and location. The rooms were clean, the bed and linens were new and the breakfast area was adequate for my needs.

  • Liked — Easy access
  • Disliked — Noise from Interstate 77
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

Have to agree with the previous post. This Hampton Inn is below their normal quality. Everything seems old, and the internet access is horrible which is very odd for a Hampton Inn.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

This seems to be an older Hampton Inn property, which is not as nice as many of the other Hampton Inns I've stayed at. The furnishings are a bit dated and the quality of the bedding is lower than at most Hampton Inns. The breakfast was also of poorer quality than what I'm used to from this chain.

On the plus side, the staff was friendly and accomodating and the complimentary internet worked well. They also have a business center in the lobby, which was very convenient.
The hotel is located directly off of I-77 so I would recommend asking for a room that doesn't face the highway since traffic noise is a bit of a problem.

  • Liked — close to Davidson
  • Disliked — quality of room, breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for one night in October 2006. The hotel is just north of Charlotte off I-77. There are many shops and restaurants within 5 miles of the hotel. Our room, a king was spacious with a work desk and a small sofa. The free high speed internet in our room is always a plus and a major reason why we choose Hampton Inns when we travel. The mattresses were new and very comfortable.

The room was very clean and smelled fine. The breakfast was the usual fare both hot and cold. We would stay here again.

  • Liked — Free High Speed Internet
  • Disliked — No Complaints
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman

Address: 19501 Statesville Road, Cornelius, NC 28031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cornelius
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cornelius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charlotte / Cornelius Hotel Cornelius
Hampton Inn Cornelius
Cornelius Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charlotte North/Lake Norman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.