We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so kind and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Conover (Hickory Area)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Conover (Hickory Area) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Conover (Hickory Area)
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   104 Tenth Street Northwest, Conover, NC 28613   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Conover
oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“so kind and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

This is a holiday inn exp so my five stars are judging it for what it is, clean friendly courteous with a good hot breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
11
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Readyville, TN 37149
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

Room was clean, service was fast and everyone was friendly. Breakfast was better than average. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean, & comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

This was our third or fourth stay at this hotel. It is still a good place to stay and I would suggest it as an overnight stop or if you are visiting friends or family for a couple of days. This exit now includes two blocks down the street a Wal-mart, Zaxby's, and a Burger King and the area is starting to build up. The hotel is clean and quiet. It is starting to show age in places such as the wall paper was coming off in our room. The toilet had some problems flushing, but was only a minor problem and we did not see any point in complaining.

The breakfast had the usual items you can expect at a HI Express including the fantastic cinnamon rolls. They now have biscuits and gravy daily. They alternate scrambled eggs and bacon on one day, then the next, you will have cheese omelet and sausage. I suggest you STAY AWAY FROM THE NEW ITEMS. The bacon was very thin sliced and greasy. The eggs tasted like they were powdered and the omelet was not much better. Biscuit and gravy were lousy.

Overall, not a bad place to stay and we will certainly stay there again when seeing family. Very friendly staff and safe hotel.

  • Liked — Clean and Safe
  • Disliked — New breakfast items were lousy.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marti77
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

We stayed here for one night. The lobby is really pretty, and the location is good, close to i 40. The room was okay. The beds were great, nice bedding. The bathroom was getting a little old - the wallpaper and grout were looking pretty rough. There should never be mold/mildew in a bathtub.
The 4th floor room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. I was told the 3rd floor is smoking so that's why but it was really gross. the hotel was sold out so I didn't even ask to be moved, figured I could deal with it for one night.
Overall was what we expected for a Holiday Inn Express. For under $100 we're lucky it was so comfortable.

  • Liked — Close to interstate
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

While in Hickory we stayed just a short 5 min. drive to the Holiday Inn express Conover. I must say we were nicely suprised when we walked in, everything was clean, friendly and helpful staff. My family and I stayed in one of their two bed suites which consisted of 2 dbl beds in a seperate bedroom and a queen pull out sofa. There is a small kitchen and a seperate bathroom which was quite large. Unfortunately, the beds were not comfortable but besides that everything else was excellent. Hotel and rooms are very clean continental breakfast was nice. Housekeeping were very attentive at our needs. Overall I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Hickory area.

  • Liked — Clean and great hospitality.
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

My family had a wonderful 1 night stay at this Holiday Inn Express.
We had a standard room. The room was very comfortable and the beds were perfect. The staff was warm, helpful and friendly.
The location was peaceful and quiet. Only 5 minutes from several restaurants and shopping areas. A grocery store was less than 1 mile. The lobby and sitting area is warm and inviting. The breakfast was fresh and there was a good variety. The entire hotel was immaculate! We met Chuck the regional manager. He was extremely nice, friendly and helpful. We really felt welcome here and would definitely stay here anytime we're in the area. Eventhough we had a standard room, which was ample, there are suites available which are larger and they come with a microwave, frig, etc.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, staff and location.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Conover (Hickory Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Conover (Hickory Area)

Address: 104 Tenth Street Northwest, Conover, NC 28613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Conover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Conover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Conover (Hickory Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you have clients that request Hickory hospitality, convenient location, and tastefully decorated facilities, then offer them the only choice you can be assured will please their every desire. Offer them the superior facilities of the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Conover as the right choice. Upon first approach into our comfortable lobby, our guests find the true meaning of hospitality. Our experienced staff is trained to accommodate the desires of every guest. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Conover has 92 rooms and 26 suites available, which are spread out among four floors with interior corridors. The hotel is located a short distance from Interstate 40, which is only minutes from Hickory, also known as the Furniture Capital of the World. Over 60 percent of the nations' furniture is made within a 150- mile radius of Hickory. This led to the development of Hickory Furniture Mart, which is the nation's largest home furnishings resource. The Mart offers 100 galleries, outlets, and stores. They also feature over 1000 manufacturing lines so you're sure to find everything you need. Guests will enjoy our outdoor pool, fitness room, business center, in-room coffee maker, hair dryer and iron and ironing boards. A fresh deluxe continental breakfast is offered daily. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Conover has the availability to make your stay as pleasant and enjoyable as possible all at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Conover (Hickory Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Conover (Hickory Area) Hotel Conover
Holiday Inn Conover
Conover Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Conover (Hickory Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.