We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7772 Gateway Lane NW, Concord, NC 28027   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Concord
Aberdeen, NC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is very close to Concord Mills and the speedway. Lots of restaurants and shopping in the area. The room was very clean. It was comparable in price to surrounding hotels. Don't forget to check the listings given to you upon check-in for discounts on area restaurants. My husband didn't look before we ate at a surrounding restaurant and we could have gotten a free appetizer and 10% off.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    25
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
26
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prattville, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Standard Holiday Inn Express…a bit on the pricey side and rooms seemed a bit smaller than the usual (just my perception, I didn't actually measure them!)…there are several hotels surrounding this one, so if you can find a better deal price-wise I wouldn't fret about having to stay here as all have the same access to eating/shops. Warning to families they did not have cribs/pack-n-plays when we checked in…if this was a 5-star "go out of your way for service" hotel they might have asked one of the other half-dozen hotels next door if they could borrow one…but alas, its just a 3.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the upper floors above or near the entrance marquee unless you enjoy the ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear SRacer74,

Thank you for providing a candid review on your recent stay. We are very glad that you liked the location of our hotel. On the other hand, it seems you were not satisfied with the size of the room. We apologize for any shortcomings you may have experienced. As far as the rates, we provide service that are competitive in the area while simultaneously ensuring that our facilities are well maintained. As hospitality professionals, it is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more pleasurable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stay at several HI Express locations all over the country...and this is one of the best we have experienced. It's priced right for the advantage of its location next to I 85. If you are looking for a convenient location to PNC Arena, great shopping at Concord Mills or the motor speedway this is the place to be. Great -- and diverse -- dining options abound within minutes of the hotel. And as an extra bonus, they give you a list of restaurants that have discounts if you stay w/HI Express. It's clean, modern, quiet and tastefully decorated. And did I mention that the staff is top notch and friendly? Oh, and bring your bathing suit and work out duds for their terrific spa. Try it...you'll like it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my teen daughter and her friend when we visited the area for a NASCAR race. The minute we walked in the front door we were welcomed by the staff. We were told of the festivities that would be taking place at the hotel during the race weekend. Upon entering our room we found it to be very clean and bright. There was a bag waiting for us with goodies in it and a letter telling us once again about the festivities for the weekend. The bathroom was plenty big enough, clean, plenty of towels and supplies. The beds were so comfortable, as were the pillows that you didn't want to get out of the beds. The breakfast served had a little of everything for everyone. If you left there hungry, then you are a picky person. The area where the breakfast was served was clean and plenty of seating area. The outside of the hotel was clean, attractive and plenty of parking. There are plenty of restaurants close by, even within walking distance. If your in the area for a NASCAR race, the track is just a few miles up the road, as are the team shops. You can't go wrong staying at this hotel! I will be staying here again!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was just around the corner from the ice machine and it wasn't bad at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, Nj
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were meeting our family at the Great Wolf Lodge in Concord, NC but didn't want to spend
$350 a night, so we booked a room at the Holiday Inn Express and were delighted. The rate was reasonable and just a stone's throw from the Great Wolf Lodge. They had bags of fresh roasted peanuts from one of the local restaurants at reception which was a nice touch and their breakfast buffet was hot and complete.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The place was nice and clean. The room was well laid out to the point of luxury. It had great cable tv. The internet was free. Would stay here again. However, my one minor quibble was that the bed was too high for me.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear keywestpo,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

First time ever staying at a Holiday Inn Express and if all are like this one it won't be my only time now looking to stay at one.
Really has everything you could ask for at a very reasonable price:
Pros:
Free Internet
Free hot breakfast
Free Managers reception with beer, food, and soft drinks
Numerous channels on a large screen new TV
Swimming pool
Clean
Great location as you can walk to many restaurants

Cons:
Only that the windows on 2-4 floors don't open.

Room Tip: Bottom floor allows you to open the window in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85

Address: 7772 Gateway Lane NW, Concord, NC 28027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Concord
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlotte Concord Area is the closest IHG hotel to the Lowe's Motor Speedway/Concord Mills Mall. We are conveniently located at exit 49 off I-85 and offer free wired and wireless high-speed Internet access in every room. We also have free wireless Internet access in the lobby, great room & meeting rooms. Additional amenities include Express Start Breakfast and free local phone calls. All guest rooms feature refrigerators, microwaves, irons, ironing boards and desks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / i-85 Hotel Concord
Holiday Inn Concord
Concord Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charlotte - Concord / I-85, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.