We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, well worth the $$” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   10175 Weddington Road, Concord, NC 28027   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raleigh Durham, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, well worth the $$”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

We had a wonderful stay. We got our money's worth seeing my Dad who's in his 60's running around playing MagicQuest with our 8YO daughter and he & my Mom climbing the stairs to the water slides like 30 year olds! :-) The food in the restaurants was great (the service was a bit slow, but they've only been open a month, so that should be an easy fix over time/training); it was very clean; the hotel staff was very efficient & helpful; the prices for souvenirs, snacks and food were very reasonable and we did not want to leave on Sunday to come home. The only suggestions I have is that they should have a fast food chain in the hotel. There is a McD's, Chick-Fil-A and other chains nearby, but the goal (for us) was to not leave the hotel the entire weekend. Except to fend off chicken nugget withdrawal, we would have never left the hotel. The other suggestion is that if you're a couple or individual looking for peace and quiet, this might not be the best place to visit. That seems like overstating the obvious, but we did hear a gentleman complaining about the noise and kids running through the hall.... ?? Overall, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    262
    116
    32
    33
See reviews for
588
4
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brevard, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

We stayed Sun-Tues. Monday & Tuesday no lines at the waterslides. We have 4 kids and they all had a great time. With the indoor waterpark, you don't have to worry about the heat and sunscreen! The food is pricey so we went to the WalMart Supercenter about 10 minutes away and bought food for breakfast and lunch to eat in the room. Each night we did a snack with the kids. The ice cream shop has kid scoops for $1.95. At Dunkin Donuts, they each picked a donut ($1.10/donut). The KidsKabins were great. The Lifeguards were very nice and helpful with my 14 year old son with special needs. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

Our group of 6 stayed for two nights in late April; my Aunt, her two granddaughters (11 and 5), myself and my two sons (3 and 1). Checkin isn't officially until 4pm, but we were allowed to use the waterpark immediately (1pm). The KidKamp suite was perfect for our group. We were on the 3rd floor, and had a small balcony overlooking the outdoor portion of the waterslides. The toiletries were a surprisingly nice touch, with a special kids bath gel that all four of the kids loved! The MagiQuest game earned rave reviews from the girls, and we also spent a little time in the arcade.

Of course the highlight is the waterpark. All 6 of us enjoyed every second there. Lots of lifeguards around, which helped give peace of mind to this worrisome mom who was watching two babies.

Breakfast one morning only, at the buffet restaurant was surprisingly good. $13 covered one adult (the 1 year old was with me, since he woke up very early in the morning), and included coffee and juice. Lots to choose from, and good quality.

Concord Mills mall is right across the street, we went there for a couple of hours while the babies were sleeping. The hotel was surprisingly quiet in the evenings, which may have been because there weren't many guests there during the week, but it was nice to not have a lot of noise to keep us awake. Storytime was a nice treat for the little ones.

We plan to revisit soon, it was so much fun! Have been to Disney World many times and this was on par with theming, safety, quality, and comfort.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, Nc
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

I went with my 8 year old daughter, her friend, and her friend's mom to the Grand Opening weekend of the Great Wolf Lodge this past weekend. (We did not know it was going to be Grand Opening Weekend!) Despite the crowds of opening weekend - not to mention a Hanna Montana sidekick-guy concert - we had a great time.

All the staff was wonderful and helpful...very Disney World-esque quality.

We got there early (11 am) on Friday and our room (a Bear Den) was ready. (You can start using the waterpark anytime on the day you check in, even if your room is not ready. There are lockers and changing rooms). The water park was almost empty all day on Friday - we walked right on to almost all the water slides with no lines. (Saturday was a different story - the hotel was at 100% capacity then.)

The water park is great - lots of stuff to keep everyone busy...and we adults could alternate between going on stuff with the kids and kicking back with a good book and snacks. You can bring drinks and snacks in, and there is of course lots of stuff for sale (including beer and other mixed drinks. BYO good wine in a Nalgene bottle! - no Pinot Noir for sale at the snack bar.) The kids had a fantastic time. The beauty of this place is that when the kids get tired, the room is just down the hall. We took periodic breaks for some arcade time or quiet time in the room. We got a room on the same floor as the water park, which was incredibly convenient.

My friend and I took turns with the kids while we each went to the Elements spa for a massage. My friend's massage was perfect. Mine would have been perfect, but for the Hannah Montana dude warming up for a concert that night in the lobby, and a fire alarm, and microphone feedback noise (none of these things are normal occurances and were all related to Grand Opening festivities!). The massage itself was great, though - these therapists were very good (and deserve a great tip). I told the manager later about the noise during the massage and he - with no fuss at all - comped the massage AND sent me back the next morning for a do-over. The massage the next morning was perfect, and quiet. I've been to spas all over the world, and these spa services were first-rate and a great Mommy-break from the water park! The spa is right next to the water park - very convenient. As a nice touch, they wash your feet in a pretty copper pot of warm water before each treatment...probably a good thing for everyone involved.

The last day we got the kids Magic Quest wands to play the game. It is well worth the money and I wish we had done it earlier. The game takes a good 2-3 hours to complete. If your kids are well-behaved and mature, you can sit in the huge lobby and watch them run around playing Magic Quest from the comfort of a very comfy couch.

This place could easily become a big money pit - like all amusement parks - if you ate all your meals at the restaurants and let your kids go crazy at the very cool arcade, but if you bring some food (fridge and microwave in the hotel rooms), it's really an incredible value. It's so convenient since you don't have to drive or worry about the weather, or parking. It can get a little crowded but nothing like a theme park on a busy day - only hotel guests can use the water park. Even on Saturday, when the hotel was at 100% capacity, the longest wait for any water slide was about 10 minutes, maybe 15 max.

I'd recommend going on a weekday, when it is cheaper and less crowded. Check in early - there's a big rush between 2 and 5pm, it seems. Have a separate pool bag with snacks and bathing suits in case your room isn't ready.

The shop is fun too...they had surprisingly cute sandals in there! We also ate at the hotel restaurant. Not the greatest food in the world, but it was pretty good...would be expensive to eat there every meal.

I highly recommend this for a good, 2 to 4 day trip for anyone with kids.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

Went to GWL during spring break. I was skeptical of it being opening week, but things were great. Arrived at noon and received waterpark passes immediately - even though check in was at 4pm. Enjoyed waterpark until 3:30 pm when room was available. We had reserved KidKabin, what a treat. Kids loved the seperate cabin with bunkbeds, daybed & tv. We took plenty of snacks, micro & refrig in room. Then it was back to waterpark until 9pm. Very few people in waterpark from 6 - 9 pm. Check out at 11am
but guests can use park until 9 pm. Showers and lockers available. Great place!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 10175 Weddington Road, Concord, NC 28027
Location: United States > North Carolina > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Concord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Venere, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Concord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.