We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for chicken soup” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cocula Mexican Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cocula Mexican Grill
338 W Mills St, Columbus, NC 28722
828-894-2099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Columbus
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Tryon, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go for chicken soup”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Salsa bar, large menu of seafood, vegetarian, beef, chicken, pork dishes. Service is good and food is pretty standard American-Mexican dishes. My favorite is the chicken soup chock full of meat, avocado, rice which is a meal, or the Cocula bacon cheese mushroom quesadilla.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My parents are residents at a retirement community in Columbus and we have eaten (usually as a pretty large group) at Cocula eight times or more over the past many years. I figured it's time they got a review.

This is a very good small town Mexican restaurant. I've never had a bad meal there, nor have I heard anyone else say anything other than how much they enjoyed it.

The restaurant staff are very accomodating of our frequently large and somewhat cumbersome (with wheelchairs and walkers) groups. They are paient with the elderly folks and make them feel welcome. (Great with kids, too, I've noticed.)

The food is fresh and delicious, particularly the house specials and shrimp dishes. All the Mexican standards are available and there are a few fancy things (with pineapples, for example). Their salsa bar has many different salsas from which to choose from mild to unbearably (except for my brothers) hot and all are freshly made.

Drinks are substantial and well made. The waitstaff is informative and attentive, checking frequently for refills on drinks and replacing the taco chips. And patient.

The restaurant is always well attended by locals, full of t.v.'s for sports fans, clean, very reasonably priced and lots of fun.

Highly recommended, in an area not too abundant in dining choices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Steak and shrimp tacos were great! Well seasoned!! Wonderful salsa bean dip for chips ! Best coffee We really enjoyed this restaurant!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammock near a river
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food with large salsa selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

One of my favorite places to eat Thursday or Friday evenings. In addition to Dos Equis they also have Highland Gaelic Ale on draft at a very kind price. I really enjoy the fajitas with squash rather than tomatoes. Salsa range from mild to extremely hot; the the salsa bar labels are quite interesting and make me smile. The staff is very friendly and fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landrum
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Too many onions'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

If you are an onion lover go here! I've only been a couple of times and each I was too busy picking onions out of my meal to enjoy it. I thought I had ordered things that typically don't have onions,but guess they put them in everything. Needless to say I generally avoid this place and opt for one of the other Mexican restaurants in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocula Mexican Grill also viewed

Columbus, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Columbus, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Columbus, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Columbus, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Cocula Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocula Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.