We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, fresh ingredients, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moose Cafe

Moose Cafe
Sandy Ridge Road, Colfax, NC
336-668-1125
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Colfax
Restaurant details
Kernersville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, fresh ingredients, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Delicious home-style country cooking with very generous portions at excellent prices. They have daily specials and seasonal fruits and veggies from the farmer's market. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    23
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great stop along I - 40”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

You are greeted with a basket of biscuits accompanied by an incredible apple cinnamon compote. We found food with high quality. Chicken and dumplings alone worth the visit. Sides such as baked sweet potato and roasted squash incredibly well done and presented. Service was spot on. Fried chicken outstanding. Two large eating areas available. Spot not to miss.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“One of my favorite breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Moose Café is a real farm to table restaurant and their breakfast is among the best you will find anywhere in the south! They have what is certainly the best biscuits on earth. Now this is something I know as I have worked and worked to match Moose Café biscuits and they have the best. They alone are worth a visit, but everything they serve for breakfast is outstanding. You can't make a bad choice. If I have to pick nits, the service is a little slow, but hey it's not fast food. I really want to go for dinner and see what they do with that, but I can give breakfast my highest recommendations.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Things are loose at moose!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Let's see: a grilled cheese sandwich with bland, processed cheese--not good. Cream of sweet potato soup--make that lukewarm (at best) cream of sweet potato soup--not good. Anemic biscuits with "apple butter" containing seed hulls and right out of the refrigerator--not good. Apple dessert with unpeeled apples and mostly crust--not good.

This is a breakfast place, and not a bad one, but lunch? Ours was a horrible experience, one that we won't try again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Love this place, at Sandy Ridge farmers market. Stop maybe once a moth. Clean good help and excellent food. Have only had breakfast there. Talk about a Farmers Brreakfast wow.Also have lots of low cal choices too..........A don't miss when at Farmers Market .Open all week BREAKFAST,LUNCH AND DINNER.............

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moose Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Moose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moose Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.