We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good shrimp and grits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Full Moon Oyster Bar

Full Moon Oyster Bar
1473 River Ridge Dr, Clemmons, NC 27012-8355
+1 336-712-8200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Clemmons
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good shrimp and grits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went there with some friends. Great bar atmosphere and very friendly staff. My wife had the seafood quesadilla, which she thoroughly enjoyed while I had some really good shrimp and grits. I would certainly return here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    16
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly folks and great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This review is really about the new restaurant in Southern Pines, NC but Trip Advisor hasn't added it yet. I went to this place with my husband and sons and was blown away by the food and customer service. It is such a unique concept where everyone sits around a large bar with the waitstaff right there and very attentive (even shucking oysters for us). Alice was phenomenol as a waitress. She knew the menu and was there whenever needed with a smile on her face. That's what I love best about the place was the whole vibe. They re hard working but having a good time and proud of the food they are serving. Food was delicious too. I had the blackened grouper and was surprised by how big the portion size was. Also, the music by the guy in the corner kept my foot tapping the whole time. I would have sworn I was at the beach! We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Oysters to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Please excuse the phrase if you're allergic. Wow! how fresh can they get unless you were at the beach shucking them yourself?? And who wants to smell like that on vacation anyway? The servers are friendly and knowledgeable about the menu items. The calamari is lightly breaded...tender. Make sure you add some of Frank's own sauce to kick it up a notch. The only thing I don't like is sitting near the door at the bar if the weather is cold and the place is crowded.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It is sort of like having a beach place around the corner. No tables, just a long winding bar...this means that you get constant attention! Excellent seafood...would recommend it to anyone looking for fresh, tasty seafood.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Oysters and Coldest Beer in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have had steamed oysters all over this state from the foothills to the coast. This is a great place for steamed oysters and cold beer. The draft beer froze to the side of the mug. YES! The oysters were steamed a perfect medium and the wait staff who shucked them was most friendly as were all who waited on our section of the bar.
I also like that the entire restaurant seating is at a bar. If you want steamed oysters and your partner wants seafood, you can both have what you want.
I also liked the classic Rock&Roll music playing on the sound system.
Will definitely go again.......real soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Full Moon Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Full Moon Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Full Moon Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.