We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skylines Cafe

Skylines Cafe
8878 US 70 Hwy W Ste 100, Clayton, NC 27520
+1 919-550-7619
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 76 Restaurants in Clayton
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Clayton, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“still a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Being a 'local' I still continue to go to Skylines Café frequently. The food is still excellent, and haven't had any problem that wasn't immediately resolved by talking to the owner or staff. We enjoy the occasional updates to the menu and the specials are just that... special. I see people noting the slow service, but my answer to that is: you're in the south, everything is slower. Sit back, relax, enjoy being out. If you want fast food there are plenty of chains in the area. We love to sit on the patio when weather allows, the sunsets are gorgeous. Otherwise you can find us at the bar where there is excellent people watching and conversations you are welcome to jump in on. I've tried other restaurants in town, but none compare for me. Even my car prefers the drive to Skylines.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    10
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Repeat customers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My family enjoys going to Skylines at least 4 times a month. Have always had great service and great food. Food is always fresh and hot. Look forward to the crab cake appetizers and the pecan crusted swai.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pass!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I've been very skeptical about this restaurant but decided to take a chance on something new and local. Big mistake. As other reviewers stated, the food took a long time to come out. Meanwhile, we were given stale rolls (gross!) to keep us busy. The pub fries were decent but never had them with balsamic vinegar. The food was poor to average: overcooked fish (had to use a knife to cut the salmon, really???), marinara sauce was watery Chef Boyardee, boxed-flavored risotto. The reviewers who rated this place poorly were more accurate. We will never go here again. The staff was very friendly though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch or dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice restaurant for lunch or dinner. They have very nicely prepared food, and a reasonable variety. There prices are a little higher they warrant and there service is a bit slow.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst Birthday dinner ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My party and I arrived at 6:30 on a Wednesday evening to celebrate my girlfriends 40th birthday. After being seated, we were forgotten about repeatedly throughout the evening. The service was awful, with the staff more interested in complaining about changes that management had made. On top of all that, both of the entrees my girlfriend chose for her dinner were unavailable. All in all a totally unacceptable experience. It will be a long time before we'll be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skylines Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Skylines Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skylines Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.