We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gary's Barbecue

Gary's Barbecue
620 Hwy 29 N, China Grove, NC 28023-2616
(704) 857-8314
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in China Grove
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
WEST MONROE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

the best place to eat in this area, prices are great and the staff you cannot beat

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I'm originally from this area & have never known what the fuss is about. Gary's bbq is good but it's not awesome. It's no better than the nearyby Porky's BBQ. If you want awesome, go to R&R BBQ down I85 off Poplar Tent Rd in Concord.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Classic Barbecue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I visited Gary's based on reviews that I'd read at several online sites. The sides are the best part of Gary's: great french fries, red or white cole slaw, and baked beans. The burger was dry and overcooked. The grilled chlcken had good flavor - but the portion was not as generous as other food at Gary's. Cheerwine soda (for New Yorkers - think Dr. Brown's black cherry. Server was friendly - and more expensive places could learn a lot from this young woman. Inexpensive - a big dinner will not cost you any more than $7-$10 maximum. Bring cash - no credit or debit cards accepted. Great coca cola memorabilia and two classic t-birds on display.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good PIg !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Their is no doubt about it the have good pig !!! It is moist and tender. We drive all from charlotte to eat here. They have good red slaw and great sweet tea ,which is a must for every southern boy ! I have never had a bad meal their. My girlfriend who is from the north, who I take to every barbecue restaurant in north and south carolina loves to eat here! The waitress always give good service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Excellant BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Gary's is a little larger then the typical North Carolina BBQ joint but the food is excelland and you can spend a lot of time just looking at all the old signs which cover the walls.
I have eaten NC BBQ all my life and this is one of my favorite places. The meat is tender and cooked & chopped just right. The red slaw is super. Most often I get 2 sandwiches and 3 hush puppies. More then enough for me. Plus being close to Salisbury you can get Cheerwine - something else I grew up with and can't get very far from Salisbury.
One of my brothers who lives in New Jersey always stops here when he is in this part of NC and takes home a couple of pounds of BBQ. As with all good BBQ joints, Gary's has their own BBQ dip and I always have a bottle or 2 at home. How can vinegar & spices ever go bad.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gary's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Gary's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gary's Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.