We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Children are not Welcome Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chimney Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn
Save
You added Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn to your Saves list
339 Main, P.O. Box 100, Chimney Rock, NC 28720   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Week Day Specials
Ranked #2 of 5 Chimney Rock B&B and Inns
Union, SC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Children are not Welcome Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I booked a room here for myself, my wife and our 2 year old son during labor day weekend. I thought that with the miniature golf course, that this was more of a family friendly riverfront lodge. After seeing this was the #1 place to stay on Tripadvisor, I called and booked a room. Nothing was mentioned during the reservation process about children not being welcome (or only welcome in the cottages). We drove 75 miles one-way, in labor day traffic. When we arrived, my son was sound asleep, and we were ready to get to our room so that he could finish his nap comfortably. I walked up to the counter to let them know I was checking in. The lady that was helping me was very kind and didn't have any issues. However, another lady saw my wife holding my sleeping son and stated "children aren't welcome here". I thought at first she was joking, but she wasn't. I told her that nothing was mentioned to me about children not being able to stay there, and she stated that it was all over the website. I didn't check the website before I booked the room, but I figured if it was that big of a deal, they would have mentioned it while I was making the reservation. One of the ladies seemed understanding, but she was overshadowed by the other one that seemed to have an attitude. I didn't want to argue, so I asked if they could recommend somewhere else to stay. I was told "I don't know anything about anywhere else". That was very rude and showed zero hospitality on her part. I got back and the car to check their website. Only on one page, and in fine print, is it stated that only children over the age of 12 are welcome. I supposed that's what she meant by it being "all over the website". By this time, every other motel/hotel in Chimney Rock was booked because of the holiday. So I had to drive 75 miles back home. I remember my parents taking me to Chimney Rock when I was a child and how much fun I had. It's hard to believe that a hotel, in Chimney Rock, with an attached miniature golf course, does not welcome children. I hate giving a terrible rating to any business, but because of this persons attitude, I had to do it.

This place may be perfect to vacationing couples, but parents beware.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fibbers, Owner at Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
We are sorry about the misunderstanding at our Inn. We are not a hotel, but a small Historic Stagecoach Inn. We do allow children in our cottages and Mini Golf suite. The first two questions we ask our guests when they call for reservations is: What dates are you looking for and how many are in your party . If you would have told us the room was for 3 people or that you had a child we would not reserve that room for you. That is a small queen room for 2 people and is not child proofed. We also have our smoking, children, and cancellation policy listed on our web site. We try to make everyone's experience at our Inn a special one and we have many anniversary , honeymoon and other couples stay with us for a romantic get-away. Families enjoy our Mini Golf suite and neaby cottages. Again I am sorry for the misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
s.c.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Fibber Magee's is just a nice small welcoming place to stay in Chimney Rock. The owners are so nice and the breakfast they made for us Sunday morning was sooo good. Thanks again guys, I'll be back--

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We usually stay at condos, this was such a refreshing change. Larry and Carol are such good hosts, they left fresh fruit and goodies every morning and ground gourmet coffee for
breakfast. You are right on the Broad River and it lulls you to sleep every night. We were steps away from miniture golf that we enjoy. Their gift shop is amazing. We came away relaxed and feeling great peace. Thanks for a wonderful stay!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We had a beautiful wedding on the screen entrance porch and reception in the common area.we also spent 5 nights of our honeymoon in this beautiful inn.We stayed in room 2 and it was wonderful to have a separate sitting area for our guest while we were getting ready for the wedding!!Thanks so much to Larry and Carol the owners for all they did to make our special day a dream come true!! we will be back for our first wedding anniversary. The Minton's

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed in the Hick'ry Nut upstairs unit. Incredible view of Chimney Rock and the Rocky Broad river from the deck & sunroom. The master bed has a memory foam topper that was like sleeping on a cloud; and there are 2 comfortable twins in the 2nd bedroom. Could basically leave the windows open at night because you are essentially 2 stories up (no one could climb in!) Fully stocked kitchen w/ full size range, everything was clean, clean! There is one TV w/ an assortment of channels, plus there are board games there too. Gas grill on deck we used to cook dinner on was a great bonus.

Sunroom/living room was where we spent hours relaxing and hanging out. Convenient to everything. Minutes from Lake Lure and Chimney Rock Park. Are already planning on going back in October to enjoy the leaves!

The store makes a great strawberry smoothie too! Neat gift shop w/ MANY rooms to browse in. Everyone who works there is wonderful!! Our family gives this whole experience / place EIGHT thumbs up!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Our first time staying in a B&B, and it was absolutely wonderful. A terrific way to begin a relationship with a new love. We stayed for two nights, and one night we had the entire B&B to ourselves. Saturday night wine with cheese and crackers was provided, and a delicious Sunday breakfast was provided. We sat in front of the B&B on a Sunday night after everyone had left the town for the day, and it was a ghost town. We felt we were the only two people in the world. One of the most romantic adventures ever!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We pulled in at closing time, as they were walking out the door, the staff reopened and showed us all the rooms available and let me tell you they each were beautiful. What a wondferful stay, trust me I have not been this relaxed in a long while. Wonderful staff, awesome breakfeast (free) not your typical hard muffins and processed biscuits, everythingthing was fresh. When you check in you pick your coffee beans and they grind it for you on the spot!!!!!!!!Love it and will be back ...............merritt island, florida

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn

Address: 339 Main, P.O. Box 100, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Updated 1890's Stagecoach Inn. This unique resort property features 8 guest rooms, 18 hole Mini-Golf Course, large gift and coffee shop along the Rocky Broad River. Large Riverfront suites feature private porches with fantastic views of the mountains and river. Guest rooms with jacuzzi baths and private porches also available. Located in the Chimney Rock Village, within walking distance to Lake Lure. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fibber MaGee's Riverfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.