We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I may be biased but I am 100% honest.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carter Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chimney Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carter Lodge
Save
You added Carter Lodge to your Saves list
273 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I may be biased but I am 100% honest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I seriously love staying here. Everything, from the innkeepers, the staff, the view, the rooms, and the area, is just perfect. I am so blessed to be a frequent guest here and I can tell you it is the best!

Room Tip: Every room is great! All have the best view In Chimney Rock. They are all overlooking the river. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My son and I stayed here from 7/17 through 7/19/1014. Our stay was very enjoyable.. The room was extremely clean, and the owners were very nice, friendly, and treated us very well. We will keep this beautiful place in mind the next time we travel to Chimney Rock. Beds were extremely comfortable as well.. A great place to relax!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back give you a beautiful view of Chimney Rock and the flowing streams... very plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Found this lodge a few years ago based on reasonable price for the great location. Have taken my grandchildren there every year since and staying longer each time. Is perfect for singles as well as families since you have access to a lovely back yard with yard swings, grill etc. leads down to the river which isn't to deep to wade in fish and is the first place the children go for some wading and special rock hunting. I love going out of the room early morning to sit out back with a cup of good coffee while enjoying the sunrise and sounds of the water in the river and sound of birds . Such a relaxing, quiet , safe place. The owners are pleasant and so helpful. everything in the rooms are clean and fresh smelling. for the price and a place to stay while you are out enjoying the shops and the very many things in the area to do. can't beat it.

Room Tip: I prefer the room with balcony, same level as parking lot but either would have great view of chimne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Lovely hosts, great location and an awesome hotel! The hosts are super friendly and the lodge is at a great spot right next to the river. Chimney Rock is a great town and the Carter Lodge is the place to stay! All of the rooms have a view on the river and the chimney rock, and downtown is walking distance away. And free wifi is nice!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Carter lodge is a throwback to the times when life was simpler and motels were a relaxing place to stay. The rooms are clean the beds are comfortable and the balcony overlooking the river was so pleasant. The owner gave us recommendations where to eat and things to do. Really enjoyed our stay and if I return to Chimney Rock will definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulls Gap, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The Carter Lodge is great! Joe (the owner)treats you like he has known you all his life. Rooms are VERY clean and our room,#5, had one of the softest beds I have ever slept in! My wife and I went down to the river which is just behind the lodge and sat on a rock with our feet in the river and just let all our problems float away. It's within walking distance of almost all the stores and restaurants and sits almost directly under Chimney Rock. At night we turned the a/c off, opened the sliding door with just the screen door closed and let the sound of the river lull us to sleep!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This unassuming hotel has a nice spot overlooking the broad river. Each room has a river outlook and there is a lovely grass area out back to sit in or a path to walk beside the river. The owners were most helpful and there is a choice of upstairs or downstairs rooms, king or queen beds.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Lodge

Address: 273 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Chimney Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carter Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.