We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location, Good Service and Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carter Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chimney Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carter Lodge
Save
You added Carter Lodge to your Saves list
273 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Location, Good Service and Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Positives :
- Amazing location : On the River, Below Chimney Rock, in the downdown, Walking distance to local restaurants, coffee shop, chimney rock entrance. From the room itself ( and from nice balcony too) we could see River, Chimney Rock, Clouds etc. Superb view. Lake Lure is also half mile from there. 5 out of 5 for the location.

- Nice clean Rooms with major amenities : Clean rooms. Had Fridge, Hair dryer, all bath supplies, Alarm etc,

- Extras : Swings and chairs on the River. Too good. We loved to sit there and enjoy the River. Nice small garden kinda area. They had few games as well ( we did not used those ). Ample Parking area.

- Helpful owners : Lynda carter spent nice time with us explaining the major attractions, restaurants around and few other things too. They were ready to help for anything. Thanks Carter family for that.

Negative :

- WiFi : Wifi sucked. It was slow. And often it disconnect and keep disconnected for hours. Not good.

- Rooms were little bit small so the bed.

Still This is the best Hotel around that Area and I strongly recommend everyone to stay here if you are visiting Asheville or near by area. We had excellent time here.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor with balcony was good where we stayed. But I think all rooms must be good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
20
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Garden, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place is really nice. You couldn't asked for a better location. The owner is so nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. It would be fine for a family or just a couple. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It was really nice to sit out on the swing by the river.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place is just at the entrance of Chimney Rock Park. The rooms were really clean and we took the balcony room which had very nice view of river and Chimney rock. Lots of local shops and restaurants near by. Stay at this place really made our stay memorable. Would really love to visit again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I loved the attention to detail at Carter Lodge. Such friendly staff, nothing is a problem and everything is very thoughtfully organised for your stay.

Don’t hesitate in asking for suggestions of places to eat or things to do, the owners where lovely and very knowledgeable.

The accommodation was so very clean and well cared for, it’s a pity we were only there for one night :( We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: They all have a view of the river but we had the honeymoon Jacuzzi suite which had wonderful views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location is great and you can easily walk to many stores and restaurants. The owners are very nice and very friendly. The property was very well maintained. In the back they have swings, tables/chairs, and cornhole for your enjoyment by the river. Best I could tell every room overlooked the river and had a great view of Chimney Rock. If you get a main level room you can park right in front of your room. If you get a lower level room you have to walk down 1 flight of stairs to your room door. There is a room with drink and snack machines and ice on the lower level. Our room and bathroom was exceptionally clean. Basic toiletries and a hairdryer were provided. There was also a TV and refrigerator. The decor was country, but not in an ugly way- it was more like Granny's house. Quilts on the beds and battenburg lace curtains in the bathroom. The furniture was pretty new, but it was in a style that looked classic like in Granny's bedroom. Nothing had a modern look, even if it was new. Our room also had a small table/chair. The mattresses were a little softer than you find in franchise hotels. The wi-fi connection was good too. I have terrible allergies and normally don't stay at "Mom and Pop" motels- but this one was fine. My allergies did not flare at all, which is a testament to its cleanliness. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Carter Lodge is such a fantastic place. This was our 3rd stay since 2009 and it is always great. The rooms are clean, beautiful views and caring owners. Joe and Linda will help in any way they can to ensure you enjoy your stay. The Honeymoon/jacuzzi room has a wonderful view of Chimney Rock and the river. The fishing was great. Had daily limit within 4 hours. Wildlife was seen on the river such as a Mink, a Heron and ducks. Relaxing and Wonderful. Close to the Village of Chimney Rock and Lake Lure.

Room Tip: Honeymoon/ Jacuzzi room has wonderful views and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perdido, Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

First off, the view is wonderful!!!! You are right under Chimney Rock. The back yard is very pretty and a great place to just relax. The river is right there and they have swings and benches to enjoy the view. They also lit the yard up with tiki torches at night so you can still enjoy the yard in the dark. The room is dated but very clean. We were very comfortable during our stay. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful.

The negative stuff: The bed squeaks when you turn in the bed and I'm such a light sleeper that it would wake me up. The area itself doesn't have a gas station to get convenience items. There are few choices when it comes to getting something to eat too.

Overall: The Carter Lodge is a great cozy place to stay. It is not an upscale resort by no means. It was a great stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel if you stay at Chimney Rock.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Lodge

Address: 273 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Carter Hotel Chimney Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carter Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.