We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Angus burger on the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverwatch Bar & Grill

Riverwatch Bar & Grill
379 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
+1 828-625-1030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night
Malabar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Angus burger on the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a delicious angus burger with pepper jack and bacon with a side of onion rings! Highly recommend! Mel ( behind the bar) gave us great service!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    47
    20
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful view on the River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Caleb,our server and bartender made our stop at Riverwatch Bar and Grill a pleasant experience the day after Christmas passing Chimney Rock en route to Hendersonville.The menu is not the same than "Comme chez soi" in Brussel's,but the staff is very polite and pleasant.will come back in this area in the summer time.Now it was 15 degres Fahrenheit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
1,127 helpful votes 1,127 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD REUBEN SANDWICH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I came to the village of Chimney Rock to go Chimney Rock State Park and to visit the Chimney Rock. I was informed at the ranger station 3 miles up the access road that the elevator was out again with new electrical issues. It was socked in with fog with no signs of clearing. I was invited to climb 500 stairs. I declined. So, back down in the valley, I enjoyed the village shops.

On the recommendation of a shop operator, I had lunch here. I sat inside because it was overcast and cool.

I had the Reuben at $8.95. It was excellent. Riverwatch uses Boar's Head lunchmeats.

Service was good.

The outdoor deck looked like a great place to be on a nice day.

When I return to Chimney Rock---hopefully on a nicer day, I'll eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, fl
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Really No Reason To Eat Here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

All I can say is this place is not worth trying, sorry. The food was not special, not even very good; the service was ok, at best. The view the best draw, it's great, but you can see the same view behind the restaraunt walking along the river or at any of the other restaurants in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Highs and lows”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The location is great. Dining on the river is awesome viewing. Very nice and friendly staff. Fair prices. Everything about the restaurant is very favorable ...except the food. All food appears to be run of the mill frozen items that are either microwaved and/or fried. If they ever got a somewhat real chef, with some fresh produce/foods, and somewhat eclectic menu choices, then this place could be a hit and I would then most likely rate as a very good or excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverwatch Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Riverwatch Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverwatch Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.