We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Rock Cafe

Old Rock Cafe
431 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC
8286252329
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: American, Diner, Hamburgers, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Enjoy a local grassfed burger, grilled sandwiches, salads and fresh baked fruit cobblers at this down-to-earth diner located at the entrance to Chimney Rock State Park. Relax outdoors on the riverside deck with a great view of Chimney Rock and the Rocky Broad River rushing by. Try one of the local craft brews or sip on a glass of wine. Check out the memorabilia of the "Rock" covering the walls for a glimpse of what life was like here over the past 100 years.
Rock Hill, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was the only place open in the little town, but the food was great. Definitely stop when visiting Chimney Rock!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overly priced average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stopped here out of convenience. The food was way over priced - $24 for two burgers and drinks!!! This is not a sit down restaurant! The burgers were dripping grease. We didn't even eat them. The fries were ok. They really need to update the restaurants decor if they want to charge that much for food.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Dining with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have been here several times and there food is divine. Their pecan chicken salad is heavenly. I also love their orchard salad of mixed greens, cucumber, fruit, red cranberries, and pecans. My fiancé loves their Philly Cheese steak (he is from Philly) and their Italian Sub.

When I was here last year for their Easter Sunrise service, they had a breakfast buffet afterwards for a fixed price. I went and took advantage of it. They had eggs, French toast sticks, bagels, pastries, muffins, fruit, and cereals. Lots of the food for the buffet seemed to be pre made. But I guess when you’re doing a buffet, which is easier.

The food is great here and when the weather is agreeable, sit out on the back and enjoy the incredible views. I have always had great food here and the portions are plentiful. There is a kids menu as well as options for vegetarian/vegans. There is plenty of parking though you may not always get to park right in front. They are handicapped accessible.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great turkey sandwich and big enough to share!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stopped in for a quick lunch before hiking Chimney Rock. The menu was not impressive but when we saw the size of the portions we god a sandwich and sweet potato fries to share. The sandwich was huge! We got the turkey sandwich which had delicious layers of lettuce, tomato, turkey, bacon, sun-dried tomatoes, all on a really nice bread. The sweet potato fries were just cooked--thin, crisp, slightly sweet like they should be. They were delicious! We sat outside overlooking the river on a beautiful day in a beautiful location. We ordered at the counter and the food came very quickly. Service was very fast and friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg SC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“LOVE their BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Reviews on here are mixed but I Love their BBQ!! The service is excellent, the food is awesome and the outside porch tables on the river complete the package! We love Chimney Rock and always eat at CR Cafe when we visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Rock Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Old Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Rock Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.