We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're not a snob, this is a great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Court Riverside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chimney Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valley Court Riverside Motel
Save
You added Valley Court Riverside Motel to your Saves list
289 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you're not a snob, this is a great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I didnt find this motel online when I searched but Im glad we stumbled upon it. Im pretty picky and its def not a high end place, HOWEVER, it is adequate and you cant beat the view. You can tell that they have been working hard to fix it up by the little details...flowers, ferns, firepit, etc. I think it will keep improving. The bed was very clean which is the most important part. The porch was awesome to view the river and they have a nice little firepit. It is so close to downtown, very short walk. The lady was extremely nice and helpful regarding local attractions. We want to bring our kids back here. If you want luxury, look elsewhere. But if you want a neat experience on the river and arent too snobby, you will enjoy this place. Ive stayed in much worse in this price range and you probably have too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
10
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were passing through this week and decided to stop at this cute little roadside inn and are so happy we did. The rooms are clean and make you feel like you are in the mountains in a wonderful cozy cabin. The porch has these comfy chairs and you are right over the river which is beautiful! We looked at a few places, but the views here are incredible, your room is so close to the river that sound just feels your space and puts you instantly at peace. It is an older place but I think that gives is character....we love staying somewhere besides the standard motel rooms that can be nice but look more like a hospital room but with carpet and a real bed!!
Do yourself a favor if you love nature, beauty and the simplicity of life and try this place out! Loved the couple here too, they really try to make you comfortable and are very helpful with information about the area. Anytime we visit the NC mountains we will be returning here!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Garden, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't waste your money on this place. There are much nicer rooms for the same price. The room seemed to lean toward the river. Planned to stay two nights but checked out after one. The outside light shines right into the room and there did not seem to be any hot water in the shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slions, Public Relations Manager at Valley Court Riverside Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We have a wonderful, clean place to enjoy the river and walk to the shops in Chimney Rock Village, and have many repeat guests. Everything is in working order and comfortable but it is simple and has character, which is what so many love about it, as we do. It is a much older motel and it has had several managers over the years which may account for few recent updates, however as of Spring this year we have begun many projects inside and out to bring this beautiful property back to life and its original glory.
We do have porch lights outside the room doors and have had dimmer bulbs in those, but if you have dim lights or no lights there are as many guests that don't like it dark as there are that don't like the light outside the window, so there is little remedy to that as everyone is different and trying to please everyone is almost impossible. There is plenty of hot water in the rooms unless everyone is showering at once. When you checked out the shower was checked and the hot water was on and working fine, we had a similar circumstance in the same room once before but we were asked about it and allowed to go in and check while the guests were still on the premises and it worked fine. Once they were shown the correct way to use it, they said they felt silly not figuring it out themselves. The lever for the shower turns 180 degrees to make it simple but sometimes if you are accustomed to going left for hot and right for cold only, it can take time to get used to using.
We strive to make everyone comfortable and are willing to work with anyone to make them as happy as possible during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed here about 7 years ago in a room upstairs & had no problems..actually had thought it to be a romantic setting with a reasonable price. Wanted to come back for our 35 anniversary, looked this one back up.. Booked it for 2 nights with a double bed..friday & Saturday, it was supposed to have a "private" balcony!! It did not.. everyone had to walk by our balcony to get to their own room.. She gave us the room right below the office.. The room smelt musty, the bathroom had a bathtub surrounding that was run down and nasty looking.. Had to find something to use for a stopper so that I could have a bath.. Needless to say we didn't stay the second night, we couldn't stay the second night & ask for our money back and was refused saying that wasn't their policy. She did give us a receipt to use for a free one night at a later date..We won't be back!! :~( Very Disapointed..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slions, Public Relations Manager at Valley Court Riverside Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I am very sorry you were disappointed, we want very much for everyone to enjoy their stay. I would very much have appreciated if there was a smell in the room if you had came back up after you checked in and made me aware of it instead of the spending the whole night there not enjoying it. The rooms are all wood walls and ceilings and downstairs, just over the river, so like a basement the humidity is a factor if do not have the dehumidifier on which are in the rooms to remedy that problem.
After checkout, when cleaning I saw the tub stopper on the vanity by the sink, I agree it should have been in the tub and don' t have an answer as to why it wasn't, but it was in the bathroom.
The private balcony means the balcony is attached to your room and is not shared with the other rooms, no one else can sit in your chairs outside your door, it does not mean people don't have to pass your balcony to get to other areas which are public. As I said regarding the other problem....if, when you saw where your room was located, you had came back up to me, I could have moved you to an upstairs room with a closed in balcony. I believe at the time of the reservation, I told you about those rooms and how couples like those, but you and your husband preferred two beds and the rooms with two beds which are typically used for families or groups are in larger, common areas.
I do hope now that you have been back and know what rooms are what and where they are, that you will change your mind and use your free nights stay. We are continuing to update the rooms and grounds but it does take time as we are doing it all ourselves to keep costs down and pass that savings along to our patrons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We arrived Fri. at about 11:30ish and altho check-in is not until 2pm we were shown our room and allowed to check in. It was everything i had expected (from reviews on tripadvisor) and more. We stayed in room 8 and the best part was being lulled to sleep by the sound of the river below! It was like having a lil piece of heaven on earth! We enjoyed sitting on our lil porch and listening to it! Sat night altho it was cold i spent most of the night on the porch while my husband slept. I couldnt make myself sit inside and miss out on peacefulness the river shares! The rooms were clean and tidy. Small but thats exactly what we wanted. Sandy was a sweetheart! She went out of her way to make sure everything was perfect for us! We were in walking distance of town and we LUVED it!! The towels were fluffy and the tissue was SOFT!! LOL What more could a girl want? We are so excited for our next trip to Chimney Rock and We will be staying at the Valley Court in room #8! Theres no other place i would have rather spent out 6th anniversary!! Thank Y'all for helping make it so special for us....Tammy and Tommy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The view it gorgeous of the river below and chimney rock above. Stairs give you access to the river below! However when down there if you aren't facing the river you see the unappealing grounds 'beneath' the motel. As for the room, we were in room 12, which I think attached to the apartment of the owner with a lock door and an odd table in the bathroom where there would be access. The room was clean, which to me trumps everything! The room reminds me on a cabin, a lot of dampness, a space heater was in the room however I wasn't comfortable leaving it on all night. I am not sure if I would stay there again, which is disappointing because it is as close as you can get to downtown which shuts down at 8ish on Saturday nights so you don't have to worry about noise!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed here last year for 3 nights & it was great. The rooms are clean,the private balconies are terrific .Staff is super friendly;they have coffee made in the office in the morning. Also,they are pet friendly & everything is walking distance.We are going back this month and I can't wait to stay there again! Anybody that has a derogatory opinion of this place is obviously too high maintenance.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valley Court Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Court Riverside Motel

Address: 289 Main St, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest to river and great view of Chimney Rock State Park. Knotty pine inn type rooms with king size beds,A/C. ceiling fans, private porches and decks. Near Lake Lure, gift shops and lots of fun. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Court Riverside Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.