We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the way to the top” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chimney Rock State Park

Chimney Rock State Park
431 Main St., Chimney Rock, NC 28720
800-277-9611
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers, Geologic Formations, Parks, Hiking Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chimney Rock at Chimney Rock State Park is an international outdoor destination in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Western NC, attracting visitors from around the world. Highlights include:- 75-mile panoramic views overlooking Lake Lure- 404-foot waterfall, one of the highest of its kind east of the Mississippi River- The Last of the Mohicans scenes were filmed here, and Dirty Dancing was filmed in adjacent Lake Lure- ancient geologic formations- 198-foot tunnel & elevator inside the mountain- five scenic hiking trails- guided rock climbing & moreThe Park's modernized elevator offers a handicap-accessible 35-sec. ride to the iconic Chimney, an alternative to "nature's Ultimate Stairmaster," the Outcroppings trail. Chimney Rock has something for everyone from the family-friendly Great Woodland Adventure trail to the stunning Skyline trail to Exclamation Point. Recognized as one of the Southeast’s most iconic outdoor attractions, Chimney Rock is located 25 miles southeast of Asheville on Highway 64/74A in Chimney Rock, NC.
Winchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“All the way to the top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Man what a walk. The elevator happened to be out, but since Me and my wife like to exercise we figured it would be okay. I run 2 miles a night and I could feel it in legs about 1/4 of the way up. We manged to make it to the top and took some pictures and checked out the gift shop. I really enjoyed the whole experience and I think it was around 12 bucks a person. If you're not in shape, you might second guess walking up all those stairs and elect to take elevator.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    258
    73
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green County, WI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“stairs are a killer, but the view is worth a million”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Please, wear your tennis shoes! There are several phases to the complete climb to "Exclamation Point". When you see the landing with the flag, that is maybe, honestly, only halfway up to Exclamation Point. Turn around, look behind you, and you will see more stairs. These jagged stairs are slippery in some spots, so watch out! Keep going until you get to the top, and the view is well worth all the stairs. The elevator was broken, so the entrance fee was reduced.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Majestic views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Chimney Rock was a great hike with beautiful views!! We had 11 kids with us ages 7-13 and they were able to climb to the 3 different levels. There are clean bathrooms and a gift shop located where you start your hike but none on the trail. Well worth a visit and about 30 minutes from Asheville.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth all the stairs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Chimney Rock is a must-see when visiting Asheville! Truly spectacular views of Lake Lure and the mountains on top of Chimney Rock. Unfortunately, fog set in so we couldn't see the waterfalls from the Opera Box, but I'm sure it's stunning. I would go back again and again for those views! We'll definitely be back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Chimney Rock is an amazing natural attraction! The elevator was broken, so it was A LOT of stairs, but worth every step and bead of sweat!! Once you get to the top, the views are breathtakingly beautiful. If you are physically able, be sure to climb up to "Exclamation Point", and you will be absolutely in awe of the beauty of God's creation! They do have water and snacks for sale, but please, do yourself a favor and make sure you bring a backpack with water, your camera, and some good hiking/walking shoes!! You will be glad you did!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimney Rock State Park also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Lake Lure, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Chimney Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimney Rock State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.