We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and enjoyable stay at a good price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Country Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chimney Rock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Falls Country Motel
Save
You added Falls Country Motel to your Saves list
676 Main St., P.O. Box 99, Chimney Rock, NC 28720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome and enjoyable stay at a good price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Really nice clean motel with very helpful and friendly owners! My boyfriend and I stayed here one night before a weekend camping trip. The price and location were perfect and when we arrived the owner offered to let us look at the other available rooms in case they fit our needs better-we did end up changing to a room that cost the same but we felt was a little cozier than what we'd originally booked. We were not familiar with the area at all and they gave us good clear direction to local restaurants and points of interest. The rooms were all very clean and the beds were comfortable. Cable,wifi, and free DVD rentals were available. We were so pleased with our stay that Saturday night when our tent ended up leaking we didn't look anywhere else and were even given a 10% discount. Our next trip to chimney rock we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review. When the opportunity is there, we often show our guests different rooms when they check-in to ensure they are completely satisfied with their stay. Unfortunately, the rainy weather we have had this summer has made it tough on campers. It was a pleasure meeting you guys and we hope you can make it back this fall to see the beautiful colors and visit the many orchards we have in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    26
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
56
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife wanted to take a trip to Chimney Rock, NC for my birthday and found the motel on the internet. The room was great and the owners very nice and helpful. We hope to return and stay there again. Great view from room. Dean thanks for having a nice place

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
It was a pleasure meeting you guys. We hope you enjoyed your birthday here in Chimney Rock. This is the best time of the year when you can avoid the summer crowds and enjoy the mild weather. We appreciate the nice review and hope to see again when your schedule allows it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Very clean room. Friendly, helpful operators. Ice and coffee available in the office, movies available to borrow. Would have liked a coffee pot in the room, not a morning person. Over all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs floors have an unobstructed view of the falls. Also recommend making reservations during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate everyone taking time to write their thoughts. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The coffee machines in the rooms was causing too many problems so we had to move the coffee service to the office. We use premium coffee beans and have received a lot of positive feedback from our guests. We hope you can make it back to our beautiful area sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First, the room was exceptionally clean and the staff was very nice.
Here are the problems:
I expected a small room--but this room was the size of a laundry room with a 6" step up to
a small bathroom.
Your door is only approximately. 20 feet from a busy highway.
There was no coffee maker in the room.
There was no ice machine-you had to ask for ice.
The double bed was not even a foot from the wall.
The air conditioner was loud and when it was off, you were treated to motorcycles
blasting by with no mufflers.
There was no table and chair-you had to sit on the bed to watch TV.


I don't see where the great reviews came from

Room Tip: Don't trust the Trip Advisor review Drive up and see the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us.
Regarding the size of our rooms, I would like to make a few points. Yes, our rooms with a double bed are small so if we have bigger rooms available, we ask our guests if they would like to pay a little more for a larger room. We also have pictures posted on our website of all the rooms to give our guests an idea of what to expect. Also, when we get people stopping by, we encourage them to see the rooms before they make their decision. Would we like bigger rooms? Of course, but we work hard to keep what we have neat and clean. The reviews we get reflect an appreciation of our efforts, the beautiful waterfall view we have, and the close proximity to all Chimney Rock and Lake Lure has to offer.
We had to take the coffee machines out of this year due to room damages from past guests that had little respect for our rooms. We are sorry to have to do this.
For the protection of our equipment, we keep the ice machine in the office. We gladly deliver ice and any other items you may need to your room upon request.
We wish our visitors on motorcycles were more respectful to everyone enjoying this beautiful area, but as a community, our options are very limited.
Thanks again for sharing your thoughts and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was a good stay. The room was small but nice. Went for the Dirty Dancing Festival and loved the waterfall view! All was great except for the shower. The shower head could be updated. It sprayed in one spot and could not be adjusted. Other than that it was a wonderful stay and I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. Glad to hear you attended the Dirty Dancing Festival. We hope that event will continue to grow as more fans of the movie hear about it. The waterfall view we have is wonderful and is a popular picture spot for many people passing by our area.
As far as the shower head problem, we tested it, made some adjustments and now it seems to be working great. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention so the next guests that stay in that room do not have the same experience.
We look forward to your next visit and may we recommend the last half of October for the beautiful colors the area showcases.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raeford, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just there for 2 nights, very clean, but no phone, WIFI did not work, office closed by 6pm and no answer to bell or phone. Over all we would stay here agin. Price was right. All but in town great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you were not able to reach us at that time. However, we have a sign on the door when we are out of the office and we test the door bell regularly. Our business hours is 9:00 am - 10:00 pm during the week and 8:30 am - 11:00 pm during the weekend. We do not have phones in the rooms because most guests have cell phones. Our location is good because we are close to local restaurants and gift shops in Chimney Rock. Thank you for staying with us again, and we hope to see you on your next trip to Chimney Rock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Firstly the good. Check in easy, quaint room, very cosy bed, exceptional view.
Now for the could do better. Internet connection poor and failed altogether at one point. Cut off for a while at 10pm. No idea why.
The ceiling fan squeaked all night.
Only two reasonable size towels for two people, so one each, and if you showered and you wanted a towel for your hair too you were out of luck. I don't think I have ever stayed anywhere with only 1 towel per person.
However, I did sleep well, so that's what counts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtleader, Owner at Falls Country Motel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate all the feedback our guests provide and pointing out the aspects of their stay that was enjoyable. In response to your concerns, our rooms are set in a certain way so extra things such as irons, hairdryers, extra towels, etc are happily provided for upon request. Past guests have informed us of their needs before heading out for the day or preparing for a special event. Regarding the WiFi, we did notice the signal went out and it required us to reset the router. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We will test the ceiling fans in the rooms and address any noises that would be disrupting.
We are glad that you enjoyed our beds and slept well. Thank you for staying with us during your vacation in our country and we hope the rest your trip goes well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falls Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Country Motel

Address: 676 Main St., P.O. Box 99, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Motel located just outside of the village of Chimney Rock with beautiful views of the Hickory Nut Falls and the Chimney Rock lookout. Close to Lake Lure beach and Chimney Rock State Park. The 11 cozy rooms have been remodeled recently and are furnished with all the comforts of home. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Country Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.