We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay in this area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Esmeralda Inn to your Saves list
The Esmeralda Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place to stay in this area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

They use the words luxury rustic, and that pretty much sums it up. My room was adequate, clean bed and clean bathroom which are my main concerns. Bed was extremely comfortable and linens and towels were the best I ever used.

Employees that I dealt with were all very nice and accommodating to my needs.

Very nice public read, porches, outdoor fireplace, etc.

This is where I would stay if I return to that area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for the thoughtful review! While our rooms are not as large as the hotel chains, we make up for space by having great beds and linens!

We think of the Inn as home and every member of our staff takes pride in providing our guests with the best possible experience. We are very fortunate to have the people we have.

We hope you will return soon and often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    57
    11
    4
    9
See reviews for
72
244
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is our third visit to this beautiful Inn. The owners Doug and Aileen are most gracious and have kept the Inn up to standards and continue to improve the surroundings.
They made us feel at home..This was one of our most relaxing visits. We had a premium mountain view room which was spacious with beautiful views of the mountains.The beds are very comfortable and pillows divine. Most hotels have lumpy pillows, these pillows were the best We enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evening viewing the mountains and the beautiful surroundings We had not enjoyed the game room on our last visits,but this visit we wanted to spend more time at the Inn taking advantage of the beauty found here. The game room has a lot of games to play, my husband taught me how to play pool, which we both enjoyed.The restaurant was not opened for breakfast, but the Inn provided a very nice set up for breakfast. The granola cereal was delicious, as well as the coffee. We used the refrigerator that was located in the hall not far from our room for snacks etc.. A refrigerator is also located on the second floor in the pantry. Ingles grocery store is a short distance from the Inn. The staff were all friendly and helpful, particularly Sharron, the general manager and Scout the evening staff. The Inn is close the Hendersonville and Asheville. This is the perfect place to relax and have a very restful sleep. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We love it when our guests return again and again! It means we are succeeding at making our guests feel at home. This is such a beautiful area, and we are so lucky to be in the perfect spot to enjoy the views and the quiet especially in the evening.

It's good that you made time to enjoy all the extras the Inn has to offer. The Game Room is a favorite spot, as well as the Jacuzzi which is now open for the season.

You would be surprised how many compliments we get on our beds and pillows! I'm glad you rested well.

We want all of our guests to feel welcome and at home when they stay with us. I'm glad this has been your experience each time you visit. Doug & Aileen take a great deal of pride in making The Esmeralda such a great place to stay (and work!).
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here many times under different owners. Rooms are clean and updated beautifully. Would stay here again if restaurant would be open for bkfst lunch and dinner. The food is so delicious when avail. Free brkfst was minimal, although fruit was very good. No decaf coffee though. Unfortunately the aura is very empty. I've stayed there when there was a warm welcoming atmosphere and I miss that. It is a beautiful place but it needs some warmth

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. I'm sorry your stay was not as pleasurable as you would have liked. We always want our guests to feel welcome and at home. If you look at our reviews, you'll see that the majority of our guests feel the Inn is warm and inviting.

If there is a problem, we want to do whatever we can to remedy the situation, but we can only correct a problem if we know it exists. There is little we can do to correct something if we only hear about it weeks later in a review.

The Restaurant operates on a reduced hours schedule in the winter and early spring, as there simply isn't enough business to warrant a full kitchen staff during the slow months. We will be open Friday, Saturday and Sunday for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, Brunch on Sundays beginning May 23rd. We are open every night for Dinner starting May 23rd.

We generally receive compliments on our Continental Breakfast as the breads and yogurt are made in-house. Decaf is always available, but we make it on request as most people prefer regular, caffeinated coffee. Had you let us know you wanted decaf, we would have been happy to make it for you.

We pride ourselves on providing a very friendly and comfortable stay. Because we offer a more personal approach to our visitors, it does involve some responsibility on the part of our guests to let us know their preferences and needs. We want every guest to feel at home.

We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a great room with access to the upstairs porch complete with wicker furniture. It was good at evening to sit and enjoy a glass of wine. There is a fire pit and a 16 person hot tub outside. The room was fine; bathroom could have used more shelf space. There is also a restaurant in house. We had a good time!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your review! It's hard to beat our views and the sound of the River in the evening. I hope you made use of the Jacuzzi. There is no better way to unwind and relax after a day of hiking or shopping than to soak in a hot tub with a cold drink, gazing at the stars.

When the Inn was re-built after the fire in 1997, we had some restrictions on the design as this is an historical building. As a result, the bathrooms may not be as large as some, but we make up for it in charm and wonderful beds!

The Restaurant is wonderful! I hope you had Dinner with us.
Come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etowah, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

An impromptu trip to Lake Lure led me to book a couple of much needed nights away at The Esmeralda Inn. Scout at the front desk was welcoming and accommodating. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I would have loved a room with a view of the mountains, but I booked at the last minute, so I was glad to have just gotten a room. The hot tub and outdoor fireplace was just what we needed! The views from the balcony and porch were breathtaking. Every need was met and there was much attention to detail. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room on the front of the hotel - it has a beautiful view and you have access to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
I'm glad you found us! As we get further into the busy season, it's definitely a good idea to reserve in advance. But even though a couple of the rooms don't have a view of the mountains or river, they all have the wonderful beds, linens and toiletries to make your stay a little more than comfortable.

The Jacuzzi is a favorite spot to relax in the evening. Did you have S'mores? The views are pretty spectacular and in the evening, the stars add to the drama.

Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

* We stayed at the Esmeralda for two nights. We were in town for a wedding and the stay couldn't have been better.
* We had breakfast both days at the restaurant and the food was excellent. Since the Inn was full the wait time for the food was a little long. However this isn't a place for dash in and dash out. You should sit and savor.
* The room was very comfortable. The electric outlet dilemma was solved by the management (more on that later) by having each outlet equipped with a six outlet converter so you could plug in up to six devices.
* The bath is as shown in the pictures. A little small but very functional. Great shower pressure and plenty of hot water.
* There is only one bedside night stand. My wife likes to have a glass of water by her at night and we had to sit the glass on the floor. Perhaps the addition of a small table would be nice.
* The bath had only two plastic glasses available. If you have guests in for a wine they'll have to bring their own glass.
* There are ample towels and wash-cloths. Even a brown one for the ladies to use in make-up removal. A nice touch.
* There is no mini bar but refrigerators are provided in the hall and second floor recreation room for guest use. Somehow my 6-pack of brown ale was short by two bottles when I went to pick it up. I hope they enjoyed the beer.
* The recreation room on the second floor is huge and amply equipped TV's, pool table, etc. It's easily converted to a very large conference/meeting room.
* The wi-fi is complimentary at the Inn. I had a very strong signal in my room on the 3rd floor. No problems there. However, there is no desk/table in the room for the laptop.
* Now about the management. Obviously the owner, who is present, takes great pride in his establishment. The Inn is sharply run and a credit to their management skills. You can't beat an owner/manager. The buck stops with them.
* All in all a good stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review! I'm so sorry 2 of your beers disappeared! As you said, we hope they enjoyed!

The Inn was rebuilt on the original footprint of the old Inn after the fire in 1997. As a historical building, we were somewhat restricted on the size of the rooms. Your suggestion for a small table in the rooms with only one nightstand is a good one and we'll give it some thought!

We work very hard to provide our guests with the best possible experience and it's gratifying to hear from someone that appreciates the details. We value your suggestions as well. It is only when we see the Inn through the eyes of our guests that we can make even small improvements that will add to your experience.

The owners are wonderful! They do take great pride in the Inn and work harder than anyone to make it a very special place.

We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you again soon.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I spent last night at the Inn. It was our 25th wedding anniversary, and we thought this was the perfect place to stay. We couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was great and our room was nice. The outdoor fireplace was also a very nice feature. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review! We always want our guest's stay to be memorable, but when it's a special occasion like an anniversary, that's even better!

We're in the perfect location to relax and rejuvenate, even if it's only for one night.
I'm glad you enjoyed the fireplace. Last night was so lovely. What a nice way to celebrate.

Please come again and often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Esmeralda Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Esmeralda Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.