We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Save Saved
You added The Esmeralda Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Esmeralda Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Chimney Rock
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our new favorite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013. Being from Florida, we were looking forward to some cool weather & despite it being too cold for my taste, we still had a wonderful time. The view of Chimney Rock from our room was amazing. The towels and robes were soft & plush and the bed very comfortable. We had the outside fireplace all to ourselves, bundling up under our blanket and enjoying the sound of rushing water & the peacefulness of the mountains. When the nights were too cold, we enjoyed playing pool, air hockey and foosball in the spacious game room and ended our evening with wine & a game of chess. Free breakfast as well as late afternoon snacks & tea were offered to the hotel guests. We also booked a 2 hour horseback ride thru the Esmeralda as part of our package. Coupons for meals and a discount rate for the season was available, which made our wallets very happy. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a room with a the view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are in a great location for views and most of our rooms really take advantage of that. It sounds like you enjoyed all the amenities the Inn has to offer. Now you'll have to come when the Jacuzzi is open!

There are so many fun things to do in this area year round and the horseback riding is one of the best. Cedar Creek does a great job. I'm glad you enjoyed the ride.

Come again! The Spring is wonderful and there as is the fall for colors. Summer will be cooler than Florida, so that's a good time to come. There's always something going on here.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    52
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
57
211
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
jimknothd
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

upscale and intimate. very nice staff makes you feel welcome and attends to all your needs. restaurant's food was great and presentation was superb. this is the nicest place in lake lure or chimney rock.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review. This is exactly the experience we want all our guests to have!


Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was the first time we visited the Esmeralda and I will have to say it was awesome....we went April 22 2013 stayed 2 nights brought 2 friends and we had a blast we had the outside jacuzzi and fire place all to ourselves. The young girl named scout was so nice and very helpful everyone here was so nice , I don't know how anyone could say anything bad about this place, the rooms were spotless very clean and the beds were awesome slept like a baby,loved the game room on the second floor....did I say this place was awesome?...yes we will be back and yes I will tell all my friends....Pam Toon from Tennessee

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have views of chimney rock but we stayed in the back and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Pam, thank you so much for the great review! You all seemed to be having such a good time. That is what we hope to see with every guest. I'm glad you experienced all the amenities we have to offer. The Jacuzzi is a favorite spot, especially with the fireplace. Did you have S'mores?

We have a great staff. They all take pride in taking care of the Inn and our guests, whether it's making sure the rooms are spotless or setting up the fireplace on the patio. We could not do it without them.

Thank you again. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a lovely place. Everyone there was helpful and kind and put up with all kinds of wedding insanity! The building itself was beautiful, the food was delicious, and the rooms were very comfortable, but it's really the amazing staff that makes this place perfect. (I normally don't bother to review places, but they were so wonderful that when they mentioned they'd appreciate a review as we left, I knew I'd remember to do it.) Thanks so much!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We enjoy hosting wedding parties almost as much as the guests do! It gives us a chance to get acquainted and spend a little time with our guests.
We're very fortunate to have the dedicated staff that we have. We all think of The Esmeralda as home and want our guests to feel the same.

We get so many of our guests from TripAdvisor. We really do appreciate it when our guests leave reviews.

I hope you took many happy memories home with you! Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I wish we could of stayed longer. The hotel is just gorgeous, rooms spacious and luxurious, and continental breakfast more than the standard fare. The hotel staff were exceptional. They lit a fire for us and had the hot tub ready when we returned. The location is perfect, even though this is not "high season" there is plenty to do. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your great review! All of us at The Esmeralda really enjoy what we do and want our guests to have wonderful memories of the Inn and their experience with us. You came at a great time of year. Not too busy yet, but the Jacuzzi is open! I'm glad you took advantage of all the Inn has to offer in the way of amenities. The fireplace on the stone patio is the perfect spot to end a day of hiking, shopping, fishing, whatever. There is much to do here!

Please come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galion, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Inn staff are genuinely friendly and ready to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. The guest rooms are very clean, neat, and pleasantly decorated. In addition to the beautiful mountain scenery, the food at the Inn was a highlight of our stay. Each menu item is a work-of-art in flavor and presentation. The baked goods made on-site are a treat. A perfect weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a great review! We think of the Inn as home and want all of our guests to feel the same. We have a great staff, who are committed to providing the best service we can. We can't take credit for the scenery, but we are very happy to be situated where we are. It's a beautiful area and the views from the Inn are wonderful.

I'm glad you enjoyed dining with us. Chef George and his staff take great pride in presenting a beautiful as well as delicious meal.

Please plan on visiting us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at The Esmeralda Inn for three nights, what a wonderful experience!
It is a beautiful place in a great location. The room was very comfortable and clean with excellent furniture and linens. Our room had access to the balcony, which we enjoyed tremendously; the view of Chimney Rock and the river from there is outstanding.
The owners and staff were very friendly. The restaurant is first class, nothing like it anywhere in the area.
They offer an excellent complimentary continental breakfast and wine & cheese at 4pm.
We liked it so much that we are already planning a family reunion for next year, to be able to share this experience.

Room Tip: Corner room facing Chimney Rock with access to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharronFieber, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are very fortunate to be in the beautiful spot we're in. The setting for the Inn is priceless. Our goal is to provide every guest with an exceptional level of comfort, relaxation and service. It is very gratifying when we receive a review like yours. We've succeeded!

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and are planning a return trip. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Esmeralda Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Esmeralda Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.