We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, welcoming, beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Esmeralda Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Esmeralda Inn to your Saves list
The Esmeralda Inn
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful, welcoming, beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

The interior of the in is beautiful- the lobby breathtaking. Upon our arrival one of the owners checked us in and made sure we had everything we needed. Throughout our weeklong stay, there wasn't a request or question that wasn't met with a gracious answer.
The restaurant is wonderful- fresh local food, prepared perfectly.

We felt like family here, and enjoyed every moment of our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this kind review! We think of the Inn as home and want our guests to feel the same. We're very proud of our beautiful Inn and the great job Chef Sean is doing with the Restaurant. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!
It was a pleasure having you with us. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    58
    11
    5
    10
See reviews for
75
260
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Super friendly folks & approachable owners that take the time to really talk, if you want. (They stepped away from the front desk to take a picture of our family, in front of the fountain, for us).

Accommodations met expectations - Especially the LARGE new spa!! Our two children loved it (2yr & 5yr old)

The third floor refrigerator was great to have access to. This helped to keep the kids snacks fresh & drinks cold without having to buy ice everyday.

The front porch & second floor porch both have rocking chairs that invite you to really "set-a-spell".

The second floor "lounge" area is huge with a leather sectional, WiFi, TV, pool table, Foosball, air hockey, and poker tables. High end quality - great attention to detail!! Also, there is a kitchen area with full fridge, microwave & toaster - All great amenities for traveling with hungry children.

Thanks for having us!
~The Autry's

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review! I'm glad you and your family had such a good time. This is a wonderful area for familes. Chimney Rock Park and Lake Lure beach area are only the beginning of the things families can do. Hiking trails, Zip-lines and horseback riding is available in the area, as well as kayaking and tubing adventures.
Everyone enjoys the game room. It's especially nice if the weather isn't perfect! The Patio area is a wonderful addition. Glad you enjoyed it.
Well, the rocking chairs are waiting! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My husband & I own a small Mom & Pop jewelry store in northeast Ohio. We try to visit other Mom & Pop Hotels and restaurants as much as possible as a show of support for the fellow small business owner. We came to North Carolina to see the Biltmore Estate but didn't want to stay in the hustle and bustle of the tourist area in asheville. After reading the reviews about the Esmeralda, we knew this was the right place for us. We were not disappointed!!!
After touring New England for a few days, we had a long drive to Chimney Rock. We arrived tired and hungry at 7:30 pm May 25th. We drove up to this beautiful and rustic looking gem and knew it was a wise decision. We were checked in by a friendly lady who encouraged us to quickly get settled in our room and get back downstairs for dinner, as they were going to close soon. We were welcomed by a friendly waitress in training ( good luck with the new job! ) The restaurant was quaint and comfortable. We got our dinners quickly and they were fabulous! The thing I liked the most was that we had the whole restaurant to ourselves, how romantic!!
After dinner we couldn't wait to settle into our room. We chose room 110 because it was the King corner room with all of the windows that you see in the Hotel's photos. The room was private, spacious and clean. We slept with all of the windows open so we could hear the river flow all night. The stars were out and shining and in the morning the sunrise was shining on the enormous mountain that was right smack in front of our faces. Wonderful view from that room. You don't see that near Cleveland Ohio!
The bed was very comfortable and we had a wonderful night's sleep. The next morning we were off to see the Biltmore and that was spectacular also! A must see. Got tickets online for $ 44.00 each, a good deal! Came back to our hotel at 2:00 pm for a nap before we went into Lake Lure to find another Mom & Pop place to eat dinner. We can't remember the name but it also had great food and it was on the lake with a great view. You had a choice of eating fancy upstairs or bar type food downstairs. We chose the fancy dinner and the people were so friendly!! After dinner we decided to check out the 2nd. floor game room. It was soooo cool! It had a poker table, fooseball, air hockey,a pool table and about 6 tables that seated 4 people each with board games. It also had a living room area with a big screen TV which leads out to an open porch with rocking chairs where we sat for a while and watched a thunderstorm pass. Again we slept with the windows open to hear the storm and the river. Very romantic!!!!!
There isn't a pool but there is a hot tub and a spa. We're not into any of that so we didn't use them. All in all we had a wonderful stay and have already been handing out numerous brochures about the Esmeralda to our customers. ( Sorry we cleaned you out in those, but we put them to good use to everyone who asked how our trip was)
The only complaint that I had as a woman was that not only this hotel but all other hotels who skimp on bathroom counter space. Our bathroom was fine except for the pedestal sink that has absolutely no counter space what-so-ever! I had no place to lay out my hot rollers and makeup.
As a suggestion, our room was spacious enough that a writing desk and chair with a wall mirror could easily be put against the wall next to the lounge chair. At other hotels that don't offer bathroom counter space, that desk comes in handy for me. It couldn't possibly cost that much to add for the comfort and convenience of all primping women everywhere!!!!
Thank you for a wonderful stay ,
Jim and Tricia Vandemark

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Wow! Thank you so much for your great review! We think this is a very special place, but it is so gratifying to hear that our guests think so too. Room 110 is hard to beat. The river across the street lends great sound effects!
This is the ideal area to stay since we're close to Asheville, Black Mountain and the Blue Ridge Parkway for day trips. After a day of exploring, come back for a wonderful dinner and nights sleep.
We're committed to promoting and supporting small businesses as well. We appreciate your distributing brochures for us!
We'll look at the possibility of putting a dressing table in some of the larger rooms. Good idea!
Thank you again for taking the time to write such a positive review. We appreciate it! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We loved our stay. The staff and owners were phenomenal. Sean, the chef, even personally delivered an unsolicited appetizer to our group of 8 at the outdoor fireplace while we awaited dinner seating. Food is great. A++ on overall hospitality. Small room but very clean and equipped with everything you might want. 2nd floor game room is great--air hockey, billiards, cards, foosball---we enjoyed that too.
We look forward to returning soon. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you for your great review! I'm glad you enjoyed the new Patio and Spa area. Because our rooms are not overly large, we've tried to provide wonderful public areas both inside the Inn and outside. It sounds like you enjoyed several of those areas. Our goal is to make every guest feel at home and to offer the best experience possible. It's very gratifying when a guest lets us know we've succeeded!
Chef Sean is a real jewel. We are very fortunate to have him with us!
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

First let me say that this hotel was beautiful inside and the staff were incredibly friendly, prompt and concerned. I have stayed in the area before at a different hotel, so I knew about the area and how to get around. Our room was the most expensive listed due to its size and access to the upper deck patio with chairs. While all of that was accurate, my wife and I were pretty disappointed with the size, privacy, and overall comfort of the room. None of them were bad, just not what we expected. The biggest issue was the fact that our room (#1) was just up the stairs in the main building, right off the lobby. But it seemed that all of the rooms were like that. Some of the beauty of the hotel is the hard woods and outdoors theme - but this is also its downfall for noise and privacy. We could hear everything going on in the lobby...and I was sure the reverse was true too. The room was really not that big - pretty much just large enough for a King-size bed, dresser with TV, chair and bathroom. The bathroom had a bunch of "wasted" space, in my opinion, which could have been better used by installing a more luxurious bathtub or spa tub...instead of the regular old shower/tub, like the one in Holiday Inns. Again - it was very nice, but nothing like I expected for the price and decor of the lobby. The bed was very comfortable and sheets very nice. The TV was a flat-panel LCD (very nice) with DirecTV and they also had a really nice Bose WaveRadio. The access to outside was great for the patio and its relaxing atmosphere. But, once again, it was also a problem. There were plenty of other people with access to the outside patio and you could easily hear them in the room if they were outside our door. Lastly, the A/C was a type of installed unit that went over the TV. It was nice, but never seemed to really cool the room. It was fairly hot during the day (around 80 deg) and so getting it down to 70 at night was really needed to sleep. It constantly ran all night and never seemed to quite cool us off.

But - again - despite the disappointment and less-than-expected room standards, the hotel in general was great, the people were wonderful and the food was excellent. I would definitely stay again but pay a lower price or get a different room.

Room Tip: FAR away from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a candid review. We appreciate that everyone has a vision of the experience they want when they visit an area and sometimes, despite all the best efforts, it falls short of that vision. I will assure you that while sound does carry up to the 2nd floor, no one in the lobby or at the desk can hear anything from the rooms. There are only two rooms on the 2nd floor, the other 12 rooms are on the third floor.
We're an Inn, not a hotel chain, so the rooms are not overly large. We think this is part of their charm! We have wonderful public areas - the lounge/game room, upper terrace, front porch, deck off the dining room and now, the Patio and Spa area are all there for our guests to enjoy.
In our efforts to be handicapped accessible, some of the the bathrooms are larger than you might expect.
We value your comments and continue to do our best to make every guests' stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. It's through sincere criticism that we understand what we can do better'!
Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stayed at the Esmeralda during the weekend of our son's wedding with extended family from both the bride and groom's sides along with other friends to fill the entire 14 rooms. Because we booked out the Inn, we had access to all the common areas, including a kitchen and a large, well-equipped game and TV room and the grounds. Soon the outdoor rock hot tub and fireplace will be ready, but basically we stayed so busy that we didn't have time to use those anyway. We will when we return with fewer events planned! Not only the management, but each person on staff at the Inn and Restaurant was excellent in friendliness, helpfulness and competency. Every aspect of this experience far exceeded our expectations. I will also rate the restaurant, where we held the rehearsal dinner, but will only say here that our friends and family are still talking about the phenomenal food! You will not be disappointed here, whether you have a large gathering or come alone.

Room Tip: Pick by view or appropriate beds - all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for your great review! It was such a pleasure having your group with us. Everyone seemed to be having a good time. It's fun when a group books the entire Inn. As you said, you have the place to yourselves and can really enjoy all the special features. The Spa is a great addition to our list of amenities. We have an amazing staff. Everyone here loves the Inn and this business of providing guests with a memorable experience. We are very fortunate to have our Executive Chef, Sean with us. The Restaurant just keeps getting better!
We hope you'll come back soon, and this time, spend a little more time relaxing!
Thank again for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I and my wife visited Chimney Rock, NC and found this lovely hotel after looking around for place to stay. We love this place, the room is so comfortable, staffs are very warm and lovely. We definitely want to stay here again some time.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsmeraldaInn, General Manager at The Esmeralda Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We very much appreciate our guests letting us know about their visit. Our staff is the best! We think this is a special place. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Esmeralda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esmeralda Inn

Address: 910 Main Street, Chimney Rock, NC 28720
Location: United States > North Carolina > Chimney Rock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chimney Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Esmeralda Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant is nestled within the Hickory Nut Gorge of the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains located in Chimney Rock, NC. Enjoy hiking, climbing and fishing and golfing. While dining enjoy the majestic views of Chimney Rock State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Esmeralda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Hotel Chimney Rock
Esmeralda Chimney Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Esmeralda Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.