We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds and an older but well maintained motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Motel and Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pioneer Motel and Cottages
Save Saved
You added Pioneer Motel and Cottages to your Saves list
P.O. Box 397, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely grounds and an older but well maintained motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

i stayed here at the motel with my family but it is not the first time we have been. We went earlier in November merely passing through Cherokee but we returned in June. The grounds were well kept and we stayed down by the river all day. i must say the pool was very, very nice. We stayed in cabin 140. It was clean and had good air conditioning. The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. The staff was very knowledgeable about the area and attractions. We were close towards the cultural things in town and hiking trails as well. We went tubing and had a great time. The owner was gracious enough to let us eat vegetables from her garden. Thank you pioneer motel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    0
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

What a cute & cozy place. This is definitely our new vacation spot while visiting Cherokee. Very affordable, VERY CLEAN, GREAT customer service & so much for the kids to do, as well as us "older" kids :-) Highly recommended & we are already looking forward to next years vacation!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

The cottage we stayed in was awesome! The sound of the river from our spacious deck, and sitting by the pool was very relaxing. I would Definatly stay here again. Thank you pioneer motel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel C, Owner at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to review us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We love families and we are so glad that your family enjoyed our place. Please comesee us again.Thank you, Laurel Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Beautiful quiet area in Cherokee along the river. Stayed in a cabin with lovely views of the mountains. Easy get away from Charlotte and very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel C, Owner at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for your review. So happy thatyou enjoyed your cabin and your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again. Laurel Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We booked a motel in Cherokee NC (online) a few months ago so my wife and I could visit (she shopped and I trout fished) Cherokee. I noticed the Pioneer Motel across the the street and stopped to see what they had to offer. Needless to say on our last visit last weekend we stayed at the Pioneer. It was very clean and quiet. Its not fancy but it is reasonable and the staff is friendly. The motel offered a very convient place to stay and had a streambehind it for a "quick fix" for last minute fishing while between my normal fishing trips to spots on the reservation. When I go back to Cherokee I will stay at the Pioneer. Quick note: Besides the motel rooms they do offer about 4 cabins that are located closer to the stream that sleep 4 of more.

Room Tip: Two of the cabins are located within 100 feet or less from the creek. Both offer a front porch with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel C, Owner at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We are so happy that you stayed with us and took the time to review us.We are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful Ocoaluftee River. Thank for your observations and we agree 100%. We are not aspiring for fancy. We want to be clean, comfortable, relaxing, and a good value. Come see us again. Laurel Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. We stayed for 3 days. The room was clean and comfortable for 2 adults. We always enjoy Cherokee and are always looking for a bargain. We feel that we found that bargain at the Pioneer Motel and Cottages. The next time we go to Cherokee we plan to get information on the cottages. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel C, Owner at Pioneer Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Satisfied Customer, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.We look forward to seeing you again perhaps in a cabin next time. Laurel Cooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We were booked at another hotel the PAGAENT MOTEL in Cheerokee NC and upon entering were scared of a drive by shooting or possible armed robbery so we decided to look for another room and saw this place its far enough out of town to feel like a get away BUT close enough to be at a resturant in 5 minutes so I love the locale of it...We came for the TROUT fishhing for kids so all the other places were booked and i didnt have alot of cash and asked the front desk if theyd matvh the price on the other nasty motel and they graciously did and we cant be happier with our room...LOOK first off I like it casue its a mom and pop place and not a huge cash grab corparation...NO.2 please understand its NOT the RITZ CARLTON but its a dang nice lil place and for the money you cant beat it our room is EXREMELY CLEAN and the staff was great...I WILL COME BACK MANY TIMES

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pioneer Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Motel and Cottages

Address: P.O. Box 397, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the most unique and quaint lodging options located on the Eastern Band of the Cherokee Indian Reseveration. We offer a variety of ecomonical lodging options for you and your family. We have 21 motel rooms and 7 cottages to accomidate you. We are family owned and operated and take pride in our facility. We welcome you to our property to relax and enjoy your vacation. Our property offers access to the Oconoluftee River for fishing or just playing around. Our property also includes a covered pavillion area, perfect for cookouts or family reunions. We also offer a recreactional area, including an outdoor basketball court for both adults and children to enjoy. Our outdoor pool area has recently been remodeled and offers an inviting atmosphere to simply enjoy the Cherokee sunshine. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Motel and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.